We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fortina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fortina to your Saves list
Hotel Fortina
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
north west
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good to be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Back again! Few changes. The upgraded harbour (sea) view room was worth the extra. To see Valletta by night from my balcony was great.I like the dine around scheme with a choice of dinner menus. The buffet is good for breakfast - again with super views across the harbour. I tried MoMo's the Italian restaurant newly owned by an outside company but included in the dinearound scheme. Good food partly spoilt by being served on cold plates with cold serving dishes. The Indian Sa Re Ga Ma was brilliant. small portions but well cooked and flavoured. The Chinese was good but getting a bit confused with its fusion menu.

I had the thallassotherapy (free) treatment in the spa. As there was a 20% dicsount on massages I had the peace massage - hot stones with an oiling of mineral oils at the end. 75 minutes of Bliss especailly discounted from 80 to 64 euros.

Well located for the ferry across to Valletta (quite a climb but there is now a minibus for 1 ueor to take you up to the centre). Buses 12 and 13 take you into the central bus station. At 2 euros 60 for a day pass you can travel the island

There is a new shuttle bus to/from the sirport. I paid 8 euros to be collected from the Fortina and taken to the airport.

There is the Fortina Spa 5 star - next door. It uses the same grounds and restaurants. Not really worth paying the extra unless you want a room with its own jacuzzi.

The only snag is the time share desk outside the buffet at breakfast. Just smile sweetly and walk on. The touts are employed by the hotel. You get a free harbour cruise on Captain Morgan's boat (also owned by the hotel) - well worth doing. I'll have another long weekend break this time next year.

Room Tip: Try for a harbour (sea) view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear dritherdon,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Fortina once again.All your comments have been passed onto all those concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    341
    229
    100
    53
See reviews for
152
539
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

stayed at this hotel it was very nice staff very helpful and friendly they up graded our room to a sea view for free we just had a garden room booked,their is loads of restaurants to chose from and very close to get the short ferry trip over to velletta,would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear galway77,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chertsey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just back from a week in their "superior seaview room" - wonderful view- must be the best in Malta. Floor to ceiling glass gave excellent vision. Choice of 6 restaurants for evening meal, these varied in quality but the Indian was award-winning and deservedly so. La Valletta buffet was varied with a good range of well-cooked foods, both breakfast and evening meal. Will definitely return, and recommend this hotel for value for money (although prices varied with agents and dates - I used LowCostHolidays.com).

Room Tip: Definitely stipulate seaview, preferably "superior seaview room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear cynthia w,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Fortina and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXETER
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is not a 4* hotel it is shabby, has terrible food, and is generally not up to the mark.
We arrived ,reception is small,cold not very nice furniture not somewhere you would want to sit,the whole place is a maze,difficult to find your way around and the lifts give you about 2 seconds to get in and out and the doors dont stop when they touch you.Our room 308 was nice large roomy with 2 double beds,small balcony,but a lovely view across the harbour to Valletta,the bathroom could do with an update.There is a choice of restaurants most of them serving tasteless unimaginative food.The La Vallette where you have breakfast is large and bright,if you didnt eat in there the night before you could tell what was on the menu as the remains were on the floor the next day!the choices for breakfast are a mystery no labelling,so if you need low fat milk,yogurt its anybodys guess, as for soya milk dont think they have heard of it.Outside of the restaurant sit 2 people who are very nice but there purpose is to get you to go to the 5*hotel whatever they say to you THIS IS TIMESHARE so if you have 2/3 hours to waste
you may want to go there.Nothing going on at the hotel day or night unless you like some-one plonking on the piano Mon Wed Fri.the cocktail lounge isnt open during the day so you have to go out of the hotel for coffee or if you sit by the pool some-one from the top cafe will come down and bring you a coffee in a paper cup!! To be fair if your looking for a cheap no frills holiday this may suit you but dont be fooled into thinking this is any where near what you might expect from a true 4* hotel,definatelynot going back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front at this time of year are good,in summer they must be boiling,likewise garden room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear teenyweent,

Thank you for your posting. We are disappointed to learn of your experience with us. As you may see in other reviews, our award-winning Restaurants are a highlight in reviews. We are disappointed to hear that they did not meet your expectations. Kindly note that the lifts are in the process of being refurnished.

Please be assured that your comments have been well-noted and passed onto all those concerned for immediate action.

Warm wishes,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

A great location but the 4th star is certainly missing from this ageing waterside hotel. I booked the deal and only whilst there did I read the reviews. It would seem that your enjoyment and satisfaction could be a bit of a lottery.

Our room on the 7th floor had a small balcony but with a fantastic wall to wall view across the creek towards Valetta. It was tired and not too clean, but everything worked so Hum Ho!

Our half board deal meant buffet style eating every meal, both breakfast and dinner. The choice was varied but the quality was very average. The staff were cheerful and helpful throughout but it didn't have the ambience that I was expecting from a 4 Star hotel.

Room Tip: Go the extra mile for a superior room and as high as you can get! The lifts are frustratingly slow b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear KeithinBexhill,

Thank you for your posting. We are disappointed to learn of some of the comments in your posting. Please be assured that your comments have been well-noted and passed onto all those concerned. We would like to inform you that there are other Restaurants included in the HB package at the Hotel Fortina - not just the La Vallette Buffet Restaurant. The Restaurant details were provided to you upon Check-In. Kindly note that we are currently in the process of replacing our lifts.

Warm wishes,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Fortina in early January. We were very pleased with the hotel especially as we got a very good HB deal through Easyjet holidays. We decided on a garden view room which was ok, not very inspiring, but it was quiet at nights. If you want great views then pay the extra for a seaview, but you might get more noise from the road. Our room was on the 4th floor and had two double beds, there was a two seater sofa and plenty of space to walk around. Wardrobe space was fine but a few extra hangers might have helped and there was a room safe (no extra charge). The bathroom was fine but there did seem to be a slight smell, not off putting but it was there. Toiletries were supplied, shower and Shampoo. Both these were in sachets and we felt that a four star hotel should supply these in small bottles as you needed 2 sachets to get enough shower gel. (small gripe). We had one meal only in the La Vallette restaurant on our first night, there did not seem to be a lot of choice but we put it down to the fact we had arrived late in the evening. As we had booked for H/B we were able to prebook other restaurants within the 4* Fortina and the 5* Spa resort. As it happened the La Vallette restaurant was closed in the evening on the second day so we ate in all the other restaurants for the rest of our stay. We were given a set menu in each of the restaurants with at least 3 choices for each course. We were very happy with the quality of the food and generally the quantity was fine. Moma and Sa Re Ga Ma we felt the portions were a bit on the small side. The La Vallette restaurant was open every morning for breakfast with lots of people there, we wondered where they all came from and we found out later. The breakfast was adequate with enough for most people although we have had much better breakfast buffets at other 4* hotels. We got our Captain Morgan free cruise around the harbour which we enjoyed and on our first morning we were met at the breakfast room door by a man giving us free vouchers for 2 hours in the Spa, all he wanted was to show us the facilities of the hotel and the Spa. What we did not realise that this was a way to try to get you to buy either a timeshare/holiday club room. We only found out later before we went on the tour when someone else told us about it.
So the next morning we told him we were not interested and he rather pointedly said that we could not use the Spa vouchers. We told him we would pay for any Spa treatment we wanted. Now I have no objection to the hotel trying to sell its rooms on a timeshare basis but rather than trying to trick people into going on a tour with the carrot of free spa treatment and not telling them what it is about until they are on the tour I strongly object to. The hotel needs to look at its tactics on this issue. Well, obviously, there are lots of people who have bought into the timeshare thing in the two hotels, that is why there were so many people down for breakfast each morning as part of their deal was a free breakfast. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was kept very clean and tidy and we had no issues with any member of staff. The hotel is also very well positioned for getting buses to almost anywhere on the island and the weekly bus ticket is very cheap and efficient. Overall we were very pleased with our stay at Fortina, is it a 4* ? I doubt it 3* would be closer.

Room Tip: Our garden room on 4th floor was very spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Fotocoe,

Thank you for your posting. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay at the Hotel Fortina. Kindly note that your comments have been well noted and passed onto all those concerned.

Warm wishes,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEDS
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The 4-star Fortina Hotel on the Tigne headland at Sliema adjoins the 5-star Fortina Spa Hotel. Both hotels share facilities so the difference is mainly in the quality of the rooms; meals are taken in the same restaurant underneath the road and overlook Valletta.

Those on Half Board will use the same La Vallette restaurant for both breakfast and either evening meal or lunch (you choose). The Buffet food is mainly 'International Cuisine' but there is lots of choices and the evening meal changes every night. The hot food at breakfast did not seem to vary, and swapping in say mushrooms, hash browns, etc would have been good.

Service was good without queuing, helped perhaps by a long breakfast period (07:00 to 10:30) and by sittings at 18:30 and 20:00 for the evening. For the same price you can book a meal at 3 other restaurants on site, but we didn't try those.

There is an outdoor pool just above the Sliema inlet and overlooking Valletta, an open pool in the courtyard between the buildings, and an indoor pool in the Spa centre, but we didn't have chance to use them (in January).

Rooms appeared to be spacious, clean, and with good plumbing. We didn't hear any noise from adjoining rooms. Our room had 2 massive double beds, a sofa, telly, good balcony but other rooms may be a little smaller. We had a useful little fridge which did not pretend to be a 'mini bar', and there was a room safe. Cleaning and room care was good. Strong WiFi was available within the room, but only at a cost of 6 euros per day - we preferred to use the weaker free signal available in the reception area (The 5-star hotel might have included WiFi).

The bath was to die for, and the shower was good although the temperature was a bit chaotic. The heater unit worked well, but the weather was not warm enough to test out the air con.

There are many staircases within the building, which was confusing, and several lifts which only visit certain floors. There is only ONE lift that goes ONLY from the ground floor down to the restaurant and outdoor pool as all the other lifts stop at the ground floor. Only one lift (and the unofficial 'Service Lift') go higher than the 6th floor. It is true that some lifts are being replaced and that will resolve our 'cranky' one to the 7th floor that had a mind of its own and a door that seemed to shut on everyone.

Sliema really is a GOOD base to do Malta from, unless you want a beach. It is convenient for Valletta, and many buses visit Sliema. You can also catch a little ferry boat across to Valletta, and tour boats dock close by. The Fortina is at the waters edge with the hotel on one side of the room and the pools on the other side with a tunnel to connect.

We got a good deal online and stayed at the Fortina for not much more than other hotels where food was described as poor and cockroaches seen in the bath.

The Fortina is fine for location, comfort, food, facilities and price

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th, 7th or 8th floors because you will have a sea view whichever side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear redsimon,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Fortina. We would like to confirm that the lifts are currently being replaced.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Fortina in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortina

Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fortina 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Hotel Fortina Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fortina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.