We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly lovely memorable occasion!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Capua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Capua to your Saves list
Palazzo Capua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM1807, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
San Gwann, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A truly lovely memorable occasion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

we celebrated our Silver wedding anniversary at Palazzo Capua. It was the perfect venue and just the style we were after. Classy, elegant, tranquil; we do not like modern settings so this was perfect for us. We were 30 in all and it accomodated us beautifully. We chose a buffet which all the guests enjoyed; there was a very good selection of items and the food was delicious! The events co-ordinator Rebecca Attard was very helpful every step of the way and kept me informed all along. We discussed flowers, music, the food and beverages, the guest parking, the cake...everything was excellent, down to the smallest detail. Customised menus are provided for guests, lovely table setting, excellent staff. The evening was very well-paced, the head server informing us what to do next so that everything went along smoothly. The almond cake is heavenly! Since it was a buffet we could all mingle easily as we got up from our tables and there was the space and privacy for us to make it a family get together. It was truly the perfect choice to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and we would readily choose Palazzo Capua for other memorable occasions. I was sorry it was over, time flew for all of us showing that we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at Palazzo Capua, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
NataliedeGray,

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta.

On behalf of all the management and staff at Palazzo Capua , I would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birzebbuga, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in one of the Palazzo's room and it felt heavenly... Once inside the Palazzo you immediately feel like royalty and the Prince Francesco Suite is exquisitely decorated. The Palazzo is a perfect escape for a relaxing weekend break, holiday or honeymoon stay as the rooms are very private. The staff is also very helpful. Our stay in the Palazzo was basically Culture, Comfort and Privacy all in one!

Room Tip: The suites in the Palazzo are all very nice..there are five suites and all with their specific chara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at Palazzo Capua, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Donna F,

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta.

On behalf of all the management and staff at Palazzo Capua, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, Merseyside
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We held our wedding here last saturday and found the whole experience to be fantastic. Decoratively the venue is perfect for wedding as its grandeur lends itself to some amazing pictures. Camille Brincat had been helping us organise our wedding for nearly a year and i was nervous about what to expect because we had not visited the venue prior to arriving in malta 4 days before the big day. We found her very helpful and when we met her and looked at the palazzo our fears disappeared. The food was amazing for the wedding breakfast! 5 course dinner with wine flowing all evening. The service appeared slow at times but added to the laid back ambience that we had wanted to preserve and meant people were able to socialise in between courses and extended the evening for everyone. THE BAND PLAYING WERE AMAZING!!!
We stayed in the Prince of Capua suite which was fantastic. The bed was really comfy and there was plenty of space. Blinds do open...Just a bit of a nac to it.
Only problems we encountered were that my husband was approached to sign a bill at the end of the wedding which he could bearly read let alone think clearly about to sign at that time of evening haha. Also there was some confusion over how much deposit had been paid prior to us arriving in malta but this was soon cleared up by camille who was quick to attend the palace when the bill was being paid.
Overall I found the wedding experience at Palazzo Capua to be amazing. We had a fantastic time and amazing pictures. Recommend staying here to anyone because you really do feel special in this venue.

Room Tip: price of capua suite was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at Palazzo Capua, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear JandDWilliams

Thank you for having chosen Palazzo Capua for your Wedding. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

On behalf of all the management and staff at Palazzo Capua, I would like to thank you for your comments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We booked a standard room at the Palace Hotel, but we were upgraded to the Palazzo Capua. There were good and bad points to the Palazzo Capua:

+ Beautiful building steeped in history and wonderfully restored (although we thought that the building's history could have been taken advantage of a little more, for example, giving details of the rooms and what they were used for)
+ Great location - close to the sea, ferries to Valletta and the bus stops. Also just next to the Palace hotel, whose facilities you can use.
+ The location felt very private - it didn't feel like a hotel; no long coridoor with hundreds of rooms, but a private staircase and halls shared by a handfull of rooms

The biggest problem with the room was with maintenance, which was poor. Just to name a few:

- There were brown stains along the bottom of the shower curtain, something very cheap and easy to rectify (after all, how much can a shower curtain cost?)
- Blinds which did not pull up, which was a shame considering the lovely weather
- Light switch coming away from the wall, again something easily rectified (just need to tighten the screws). Also, could really be a big hazard, especially for kids.
- The TV turned itself off after being on for 5 minutes. This wouldn't have been such a problem if it turned straight back on with the remote, but you had to turn it off at the mains and then turn it back on again
- Fist-sized hole in the wall for TV wires - not a big problem for us, but it looked scruffy and is dangerous, especially if with kids

Some other problems that occurred:

- Like many hotels, there were function rooms downstairs, but because this building is a lot smaller than most hotels, we could hear noise from the function rooms. At one point, someone was having a birthday party, which was quite noisy. Also, a kid from the party wondered up the staircase and walked into our room! We had just got in and so we hadn't locked the door, thankfully we were decent, but it was a bit of a shock.
- The night before our departure, the air conditioning stopped working in our bedroom, which is a big problem in such a hot country. We called reception and asked if they could send someone up. After 40 mins, no-one turned up so we called them again, and told them we wanted to go out for dinner, and would be leaving in 15 minutes. 5 minutes later, 2 scruffy men turned up and poked the air con a bit and pressed some of the buttons. After 5 mins of staring at the machine and looking puzzled, they said 'it's fixed now, just leave it'. We thought this was a bit strange but we just went out to dinner and hoped for a cool room when we got back. We returned 3 hours later to a boiling hot room. Once again, we talked to reception, telling them that we wouldn't be able to sleep in that room and had an early flight the next day. The man at the desk told us they would get someone to have a look at it but they had no spare rooms left. When we got back to the hotel room, a manager called us and told us that they would get us a room for the night, and they put us in the very lavish texture suite. It was eventually sorted out, but was a big inconvenience for us, which resulted in us not sleeping until 2.30am (as we had to pack all our stuff and move hotel rooms). Also, the word 'sorry' was not mentioned once - very slap-dash.

In summary, we were pleased to get upgraded to the Palazzo Capua - the building is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are quite nice. However, the upkeep of the rooms leaves much to be desired. One questions why they have let the room's standards fall when the problems would be SO easy to repair! A nice place to be upgraded to, but if we had paid the full price for this room, we would have been furious. The designed suites are actually cheaper than the Palazzo Cappua (believe it or not) and are 100 times better - completely modern, breath-taking views, everything maintained etc.

Room Tip: Don't book the Palazzo Cappua - the prices are extortionate for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at Palazzo Capua, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Armoured-duck,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to write a comment on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

Whilst reading your disappointment through our maintenance service, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any suggestion; it is in fact only through your comments that we may achieve what we are striving for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at Palazzo Capua, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We had our wedding reception here and were absolutely thrilled with the outcome. It was a small wedding so the venue was perfectly intimate. The indoor decor was fantastic with beautiful candles, chandalier, table set up, pianist and singer for a very reasonable price. The events co-ordinator (Camille Brincat) made everything so simple to organise and was very thorough. We were even offered an extra nights stay for a minor error that was made at booking stage but quickly rectified. The suite we stayed in was also fantastic. A definite 5 star. A must for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at Palazzo Capua, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear caroline7784

Thank you for having chosen Palazzo Capua for your Wedding. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings.

On behalf of all the management and staff at Palazzo Capua, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

We booked a week in The Palace Hotel, the one next to the Palazzo Capua, but when we arrived there they offered us to accept a suite in the Palazzo Capua. Of course we took it! The suite was really nice and confortable, we slept really good and the cleaning was perfect.
We was lucky, because we took an offer for the other hotel and then they upgrade us to this one that, as we saw on the website, was much more expensive than the first one.
It's not far from the sea and from the bus stop and in a quiet area, the perfect place for a nice holiday.
From this hotel you access to the Palace Hotel next to it for breakfast (in the Palazzo Capua there are only suites) and you can use their swimming pool at the 8th floor: it's an amazing place, mostly at night, where you have an amazing view of the whole area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Reservations Agent at Palazzo Capua, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

We appreciate the fact that you have enjoyed your upgrade to The Palazzo Capua, our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kenneth Fenech
Reservations Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

We found Palazzo Capua to be ideal for a relaxing weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It is very close to the Sliema front, close to the shopping area and also is adjacent to the Palace Hotel which has a very good restaurant (TemptAsian)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, at Palazzo Capua, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

As you have titled your comment The Palazzo Capua is ideal for a relaxing holiday, our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kenneth Fenech
Reservations Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Capua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Capua

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM1807, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Capua 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For nearly 200 years Palazzo Capua Sliema Malta dominated the Sliema landscape. This splendid monument to a bygone age has been referred to as probably one of the oldest and finest buildings in Sliema Malta. Ideal for Malta Conferences and Events and Weddings in Malta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Capua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Capua Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Capua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.