We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent nigh overall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vin - CLOSED

Le Vin
90 Santa Rita st | RBT1524, Rabat, Island of Malta, Malta
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Birkirkara, Malta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An excellent nigh overall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The title says it all - an excellent night, characterised with a warm ambience, delicious food and a extremely helpful staff! Even though the wine list was bit limited, the choice was excellent nonetheless.

Very well done to the staff: The head waiter (I'm assuming) kept apologising for taking long with our order, he explained that it was because of the limited staff. He was extremely nice and I do not think he should have apologised at all, because the service was extremely efficient and we were very satisfied with the service. We did, however, appreciate his courtesy and manners.

Compared with other venues in the area, including wine bars and restaurants in Mdina, this wine bar was simply amazing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptionally welcoming :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We came across this wine bar while trying to find somewhere to park the car in rabat. We were originally going for the Vinum in Mdina but we got attracted to this place while passing by and decided to give it a try.

We had a serving of bruschetta and another of garlic bread, a bottle of red Waka Waka South African syrah and the dessert of the day...everything was amazing, and the warm and friendly service, that was exceptional! You will hardly find any place more welcoming than this honestly :) ..we fell in love with Le Vin and will be visiting again for sure.

Don't miss out if you are in Malta...you wont't regret ;)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This small wine bar / restaurant will surprise ..excellent service & warm atmosphere. The owner serves the place with sone littlevhelp ..looks very humble & polite ..this place is a must go! :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great surprise and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Well we were three friends looking for smthg different in Rabat and a guy from the city recommended us this place, the first impression was good but as we sat we realized there was a very big table around 20 people waiting to be served beside all the tables outside and some placed inside as well, seeing not so much staff and the owner himself working everywhere we were quite worry about the time.
Anyway they welcomed us immediatly and right after they served us beers and very good mojtos, then we ordered some starters and the three different grilled platters as main course, our great surprise was that everything came very quickly and those three big generous platters served right after our bruschetta were delicious, despite all the people sat everything was on time, very generous portions sophisticated composition and fresh and juicy meat. We later ordered wine and discovered they sell premium cigars inside. I rarely spend lots of words in a review but this place is a good example of how to set up an efficient restaurant bar without being kinda fast food just hamburger and fish&chips like many there are in Malta, I was then very glad to see all the space inside and the lounge area downstair that will be used for the winter

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absoluty perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

1st time we where in 2 we took bbq and salmon cooked perfectly the owner leads the restaurant / wine bar perfectly the 2 girls helping him great too...2nd time by the bar ordered some little food which turn out great too..keep it up

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vin also viewed

Rabat, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Vin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.