We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rising Sun Snack Bar

Rising Sun Snack Bar
70 St Paul's Street, Rabat, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 9942 1890
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 44 Restaurants in Rabat
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Vilnius County, Lithuania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent food and music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Special place in Rabat. Found it unawares. Music and the atmosphere of this bar is great. the owner ( I suppose that he is owner) was very kind and friendly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“A decent lunch at a decent price - not anything special!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

A lovely little restaurant not far from the beautiful city of Mdina, which provided us with a good value lunch.

The service was what you would expect in an average restaurant, as was the quality of the food. If I was going back, I would not be overly keen to revisit, but if I failed to find anywhere else, I would have no issue with returning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Awesome, relaxed and amazing afternoon spent at Rising Sun! Delicious food and a very relaxed atmosphere. Perfect hide away from the heat outside :) Big compliments to the chef Gabriella and the owner Philip :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Much better available”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We tried lunch here, as it was a new venue from last year, it wasnt open in 2013 when we visited. Nice setting right at the entrance of Rabat for people coming in from Mdina, but there is much better on offer. The food was average at best and service on the poor side.

There are a number of much better offerings for visitors and one, Toffee and Co is just around the corner, which is far better. We stayed in Rabat and it was hit and miss to find the place open, as he seemed to close the doors when the village seemed quiet.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Highly recommend!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Good food and drink, excellent atmosphere and welcoming and friendly host. I would highly recommend a visit by anyone in the Rabat area or visiting Mdina.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rising Sun Snack Bar also viewed

Rabat, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 
Rabat, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Been to Rising Sun Snack Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rising Sun Snack Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.