We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Town s Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ta' Duminka

Ta' Duminka
150, Main Street | 150, Mosta, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 7745 3197
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Mosta
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Mosta, Malta
1 review
“The Town s Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great place, excellent food and superb service. Will definitely go there again and recommend this place to all our friends who enjoy a good night out.


B&M

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    24
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We go there often”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Expats living in Malta. We aren't the kind of people who want to find "home" everywhere we go. Mosta doesn't have a lot of touristy restaraunts but it is near where we live so we gave it a try. The staff is great. The chef comes out and tells you a little something about every ingredient he has chosen that is in season. His improvements to traditional dishes are inspired. Humility, friendly and just plain nice. We've gone many times and have taken friends, family and even a couple romantic dinners. One of my favorite little spots in Malta.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Malta
1 review
“Fantastic Staff and Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great place, at first I was turned off from the location and from outdoor appearance of the place, but boy I was wrong. The staff was great the food was superb and at the end the guy also gave us a complimentary liqueur. I think the place really deserves a good rating as it is actually really good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food & welcoming atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ta' Duminka comes off as a simple, traditional eatery but its welcoming staff and delicious meals say otherwise.
What struck us most about this restaurant is its atmosphere which is both romantic and familiar. The waiter serving our table was very courteous and knew all the cues to providing an excellent service. Having the chef speak to us at our table, explaining the dishes available was an especially nice touch.
After informing the staff that we would appreciate their guidance to choose our dishes since one of our party is intolerant to dairy, the chef quickly and very graciously offered to adapt the dishes to suit their need. The end result was highly satisfactory, and the effort on the chef's part was immensely appreciated. We were served food that would remind you of your nanna's best meals with fondness; traditional dishes yet sporting modern touches. What's more the prices are very affordable.
We would definitely recommend this restaurant and suggest booking your table since space is rather limited.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another splendid meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Visited with my husband and 2 other guests visiting us from UK. We all simply loved the food. Always consistent at Ta Duminka and the main reasons we choose to take friends and family there. Host always very welcoming. Whenever we cannot decide what to have we go with his recommendation and we have never been sorry. The chicken roulade with pesto dressing was superb. Looked very appetizing when it arrived and tasted divine. For dessert I tried a mousse with helwa tat Tork, something I never tried and it was out of this world. The BBQ spare ribs naturally fell off the bone. Upon leaving we were given a complimentary limoncello, a lovely little touch. Well done again chef and congratulations to the host.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta' Duminka also viewed

Mosta, Island of Malta
Mosta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Ta' Duminka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ta' Duminka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.