We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the silent city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mdina Old City

Mdina Old City
Mdina, Island of Malta, Malta
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Mdina Old City like an insider
Private Tour
$68*
and up
Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Private Tour...
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Scotland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“the silent city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Read the history before going. Check out the door knockers and the keyholes. The nobles who ran Malta pre the knights, locked themselves in here and would take no part in the siege. See the cathedral. See the size of the internal houses and walled gardens.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,625
    484
    60
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Mdina - Malta Dec 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

A lovely place, we had to catch 2 busses to get there, but well worth the visit. Cafe overlooking the wall at the far end is great and food very reasonable. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“WHAT A VIEW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I think this is a must the unique way the streets are laid out they do not run in straight lines it was a form of defence in medieval days so that arrows could not be used as they would hit the walls that stuck out. The views from the walls are fantastic you can see right down to Valetta and beyond

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Great view from the silent city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Beautiful walled city, an incredible gilded church with marble inlay in the floors, and the museum are must sees. There are a few shops and restaurants, but with traffic limited to horse carriages and few cars, you feel as if you've stepped back in time to another world. The view is great from the ramparts. If you are on Malta, don't miss it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“We needed more time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went here as an afterthought before we left Malta and I wish we had given it more time. The Church and church Museum were fascinating. We arrived so late that we did not even get to the second floor of the museum. Walking around after dark when the lanterns were lit was like going back in time to a magical place. This city was walled by the Arabs and retained it's original character. Loved it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mdina Old City also viewed

 
Kalkara, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Mdina Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mdina Old City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.