We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mdina View

Saved Save
You added Mdina View to your Saves list.
Enjoy breakfast or dinner on the roof top terrace
Enjoy breakfast or dinner on the roof top terrace
Enjoy breakfast or dinner on the roof top terrace
Country views from Roof terrace.
Entrance to' Mdina View' town house through a  private communal courtyard
Air-conditioned Main bedroom with open air balcony over looking Courtyard and Mdina Gate
En suit  shower room
Mdina
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tanoxon
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

"Mdina View" was the perfect spot for our family of four (including two teenagers) during a flying visit to Malta. The house is very well equipped, tastefully decorated and most importantly has very comfortable beds! It is in a perfect situation, within easy walking distance to all amenities – banks, bakers, cafés, restaurants and some of the best pastizzi on the island from the Crystal Palace bar. Alex and Erika could not do more to help and really make you feel welcome. We will definitely go back there.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The high standard to which the house was equipped and its position.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Passepart...
Bristol UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Five stars to the owners for their endeavors to ensure an enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Mdina View and we were not disappointed! As the property is situated opposite the main gate to Mdina it is especially enjoyable to walk around Rabat and the atmospheric medieval town of Mdina in the evenings when most other tourists have left. The property is also excellently situated for visiting the rest of the island. We were travelling by car and always found it easy to park nearby the accommodation. As with our first stay we found the house to be immaculate, with everything and more that is required for a luxurious stay. We particularly enjoyed breakfast on the rooftop terrace which had panoramic views over Malta, and walking out late in the evenings for coffee and cake in Mdina.

The outstanding feature of this property is the effort and care given by the owners to ensure an enjoyable stay. For example, we were emailed a few weeks before our visit and asked if we liked classical music to which I simply emailed back yes, and forgot about it. When we arrived at the accommodation we were given free tickets to a concert by the Malta Philharmonic Orchestra at St John’s co-Cathedral in Valletta, it was an amazing experience which made our stay. Alex and Erika are more hosts than owners, they gauge the interests of their guests and then offer help and advice accordingly.

Five stars to Alex and Erika (and Mdina View)

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The property, The location, The owners
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Edgefolde...
Boston lincs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our piece of Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for the ultimate holiday then you need to stay at Mdina View. We have just spent the most fantastic 6 days exploring the beautiful city of Mdina and the delights of Malta. The owners, Alex and Erica, through their outstanding hospitality, ensured that we had an indepth knowledge of places to visit, restaurants to dine at, bars to taste local beer and cafes to eat local treats!!! They also provided a guided tour of the area whilst taking us to our apartment after collecting us from the airport; even after an unscheduled delay. Alex's passion of his country ensures you don't miss the smallest delight of Malta. The apartment is spotlessly clean, with a modern decor on the inside but retaining its heritage from the outside. It is equipped with everything you could possibly need and more! complimentary bedside chocolates were an extra special touch we hadn't expected but thoroughly enjoyed. The views from the upstairs terrace are breathtaking giving you a panoramic view of 3/4 of Malta. There is no need to hire a car as the local bus service is adequate to travel around on a daily basis. The fare for 1 day is only €2.60. For this you have unlimited travel, hopping on and off as many times as you like! We even used this service to travel to Gozo for the day. It means you can enjoy a meal with drinks at a recommended restaurant (all of which we tried and would recommend) and don't have to worry about driving or parking! The only downside - we had to come home!! It was extremely hard to leave this delightful holiday home and the friendship of the owners. Counting the days until we can return.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Southofen...
South of England
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great little apartment ......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Just on the edge of Mdina old town. Close to the main gate and within short walking distance of central Rabat. Situated in a small courtyard this property was a lovely retreat and ideal for us as a couple.
Very tastefully furnished, comfortable with a great balcony for breakfast or for an evening BBQ. Owner was very accommodating. Great stay, would book again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Condition of property and location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ilander65
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
“Great house, great hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My wife and I spent 3 lovely weeks in Mdina View. The house is extremely well appointed and all the furnishings/appliances/etc were practically brand new. Location is great being right outside Mdina and with quick access to all parts of Malta. Incredible views from the roof which overlooks almost the entire island.

And as to the hosts, Alex and Erika, they couldn't have been any more pleasant and helpful. They really personify the customer service orientation required when working in the hospitality industry!

I highly recommend this property!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Can't really find anything to complain about
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
karen001...
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great place to base yourself while you explore Mdina and Rabat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Mdina view is a very comfortable apartment on 4 levels.The stairs get to be a bit of a strain after while if you are more mature, but the view from the roof top makes it all worthwhile. You can see about a third of Malta from here. We had a BBQ dinner at dusk one night and watched the fireworks off in the distance for a couple of hours.
It's also perfectly place for exploring Mdina - just outside the main gate.
We would stay there again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view from the rooftop
Liked least: The stairs. - But I'm getting on.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
terry6885
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Mdina View is Simply Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at Mdina View in Malta, which is in Rabat, but literally in Mdina, between 4th and 14th June. You could not have a property nearer to the Arriva Buses, or the Mdina Gate. You were 2 mins walk away or less from both. Through a gated entrance, down a few stone steps, the house was with three or 4 more in a little cute complex. Alex, the owner, went out of his way to make us feel welcome. We were collected on our arrival at the airport from his father, then were shown round the lovely, little 4 storey house by Alex, and it was all spotless and clean, stone tiles on the floor, all freshly painted white, thick wooden stairs with metal railings, lovely modern toilet and en suite shower room, delightful little bedroom with wooden white shutters opening out onto a little balcony with a pleasant view, not to mention downstairs a stylish kitchen and up another slim flight of stairs to the roof terrace, to enjoy 360 degree panoramic views of Malta. It was a slice of heaven. I thoroughly recommend this property, it is in a perfect location and it is unique.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Stylish little charming updated house right in the middle of everything
Liked least: Stairs - they are steep so be careful!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$123
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Alexander Micallef
00356 99820241
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2011
Calendar Updated: 9 days ago
Note: Response rate information for this owner is unavailable.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing