We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gruesome and good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mdina Dungeons

Mdina Dungeons
Beneath the Magisterial Vilhena Palace, Mdina, Island of Malta, Malta
(356) 21 450267
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 12 Attractions in Mdina
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Gruesome and good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Need to be careful reviewing this place or add "spoiler alert" to the title. Not adding any pictures as it would give too much away.

In summary its a history of the dungeons and the prisoners held there along with reproductions of some treatments (and this is no spa!).

It does give warning that some may find it harrowing and some reproductions and accompanying tracks certainly could be.

We found it informative and would tell anyone to add this to the list when visiting Mdina.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    31
    17
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gruesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Very interesting place to visit, giving you some idea of the history involves int he dungeons. a lot of mannequins showing the torture that was done. Cheap to get in, 4 euro's . Worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Mdina Dungeons.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Very interesting lots of manakins dressed in olden day dress. Lots of blood and injuries . A recording vocal about each scene. A tiny dungeon a prisoner had lived in for many many years. Its a wonder he didn't go mad in such a tiny cell.Lots of history to be seen and lots of heading above so u understand what the prisoners went through.I would say its an good experience and plenty of history to take in . Entrance fee £4 Euros.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

It was cheap to get in (4 euros I think). It must have been a slow day because we had the whole place to ourselves which was brilliant. We really had a great laugh at all the gruesome waxworks. Kids will love it or be terrified.... or both.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Weird and wonderful !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a must for those with a taste for the macabre!! And of course for those of us who enjoy history. There are guide boards about the museum which detail the various tortures and history there related. We went round twice and photographed everything. Unfortunately they wouldnt let me take the stocks back for my Boss ! I would nt advise it as suitable for those of a nervous disposition or younger children. No time limit on visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mdina Dungeons also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Been to Mdina Dungeons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mdina Dungeons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.