We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low quality food and wine” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vinum Wine Bar

Vinum Wine Bar
1, Bastion Street Mdina Malta, Mdina, Island of Malta, Malta
21453089
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 20 Restaurants in Mdina
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Adjacent to the Fontanella Tea Rooms and forming part of the complex
Bolzano, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Low quality food and wine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Very nice place, wonderful terrace, but the quality of the food is a bit disappointing for such a price. The salad I had was directly taken from this supermarket salad bags. not really good, you could imagine

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“enjoyable and relaxing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I've been to this place for an infinite number of times. However I decided to write this review after a good Friday evening experiences. The atmosphere is magical and also quiet. Without any doubt, I would suggest a better staff training for the simple reason that even though giving space to clients is a good thing, but sometimes giving too much space adds up to feeling lost in the place with no one to refer to.

However, my experiences there was always positive and satisfactory. Also, would like to congratulate the visa/debit card move ... makes the place even more attractive and comfortable for me. KEEP IT UP!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qormi, null, Malta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Thought it would be much better!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I called and booked in advance, but I was not told that our table will not be indoors... I was not given an option. When we arrived there on a very rainy Saturday night we were given our out door table. At least we had a gas heater which kept us warm and we were very thankful for it!

The waiters took long to take our order and the food took long to arrive... The menu is limited and the food is not out of this world.

There are other winebars which are far more better...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The Best in Mdina!.....as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We are regular clients of Vinum. All we suggest is to just reserve a table outside in summer, indoors in winter, and order the "Vinum Special" platter (for two to share or more) with lots of wine!! It's the best. Lots of typical Maltese ingredients, prices are very reasonable......then end the night with some delicious Italian grappa or any one if the bar's long range of digestive liqueurs. We can't get enough of this place! Staff are very friendly and know their menu and wines well. In summers make sure you book a place on the upper terrace, its views are unbeatable!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabbar, null, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Me and my husband visited Vinum Winebar since we wished to drink a bottle of wine and nibble onsome Platter. We ordered the Vinum special which was fabulous. Very good cheese and coldcuts accompanied by veg and fruit chicken and calamari rings. It is quite a large portion that we did not manage to eat it all. Wished had the rest as breakfast this morning. Very good value for money!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinum Wine Bar also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Been to Vinum Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinum Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.