We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great plate of pasta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria 1530

Trattoria 1530
The Xara Palace | Misrah il-Kunsill, Mdina, Island of Malta mdn 1050, Malta
0035621450560
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 Restaurants in Mdina
Price range: $0 - $47
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sliema, Malta
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great plate of pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Felt like a good plate of pasta and decided to go to Mdina for a romantic setting. The trattoria did not disappoint.

2 great plates of pasta with some mulled wine did the trick, highly recommended.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    71
    30
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“excellent food, good service and very special treatment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

good options for vegetarians, very tasty vegetable soup, pastas and pizzas are very very good. the location within Mdina is just spectacular. although kitchen had been closed for over 30 minutes and all other restaurants refused to serve us, Trattoria staff were extremely professional and made our meal an experienced to remember in Malta

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emba, Cyprus
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Xara lodge confusion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

There seems to be some confusion about the Xara Lodge. This is a superb building outside Mdina and is specifically for functions such as weddings, parties and corporate meetings.
I had the pleasure of dining with forty plus members of the Island Car Club and Mdina Grand Prix motoring organisations last week.
The service was outstanding, the food delicious and the wine went down very well.
I can highly recommend this venue for activities.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky_Paris, Owner at Trattoria 1530, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our new and exciting venue, The Xara Lodge situated in the Limits of Rabat. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the evening together with the Mdina Grand Prix Group. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
With kind regards Nicola Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Went there a couple of times,a went again about 3 weeks ago.The food is excellent I had the chicken with mushrooms which I never have from a restaurant as it really scares me that I might get food poisoning.It was perfect ,I am not really a food lover but the chicken was too die for :) Keep it up

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Need to order more fruit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Visited with two friends on our last evening in Malta. Was a chilly evening so ate inside but the outside seating looked inviting. Good choice of wines at various prices. Main course pasta dishes are huge, rich and filling - order a starter size if you don't have a big appetite. Would have given a five for overall rating but they had run out of fruit which meant that most of the ice cream based puddings were not available. Also the service was ok but not the best we have experienced in Malta.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria 1530 also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Been to Trattoria 1530? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria 1530, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.