We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good prices and extremely clean - worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Mesquita

Don Mesquita
5a, Pjazza Mesquita, Mdina, Island of Malta, Malta
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Mdina
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Mosta, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good prices and extremely clean - worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I've been to Don Mesquita last week for lunch. The food was excellent, so was the service, as we say: "service with a smile". It was also a breath of fresh air to be in such a clean place. It was as though I was entering my house, being we Maltese love to have clean houses. My wife had to use the bathroom, and when she came upstairs to join me again, she was surprised how clean the bathroom was, and the entire place was spic and span anyway. It was a very pleasant outing, and I would definitely recommend the place to anyone. Two thumbs up

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    14
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tondu, Bridgend
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Maltese Platter at it's best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

A great small select cafe for the mid-day snack or in our case that Maltese Platter, and the host ensured that there was an equal amount of vegetarian options as meat clearly seperated for my veggie wife.

Close to the Malta experience well worth a meal/snack as well as a visit to the Malta Experience, but don't get it mixed up with the cafe in the Experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Nice quiet place for some wine and snacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

This is a nice wine bar situated int heart of Mdina and tucked away in a small piazza. I ve been to this place a couple of times and always enjoyed the food (platters) and choice of wines. On the last visit however we came out smelling of oil as the kitchen is sperated from the main room by a partition with no ventilation to the outside and hence it was like being in the kitchen assisting the chef! Othernwise its ok, so a word of advice is to stay in the 'kantina' basement and not at street level.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast, England
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Atmospheric building, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011 via mobile

Great service, home-made pasta with ricotta & tom sauce, good hosts. Next door to the "M'dina Experience". Go to the Experience first; I fell asleep after that wonderful lunch :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and Relaxing fantastic wine !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Hiden away in the maze of alleyways of the majestic walled city of Mdina. From the moment myself and partner walked through the door we felt welcomed and hosted so well by owner Pierre. Super local dishes and fabulous wine creating a great afternoon relaxing in the sun.
Thank you

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Mesquita also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
 

Been to Don Mesquita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Mesquita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.