We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cakes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontanella Tea Garden

Fontanella Tea Garden
1, Bastion Street, Mdina, Island of Malta, Malta
+356-2145-4264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful cakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The cake, coffee, hot chocolate and views were fantastic. Staff were uninterested and not particularly friendly.
Still, would recommend a visit just for the cake!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    451
    117
    31
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
the hague, the netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“enjoying the views over cake and coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Very picturesque restaurant, with a lot of stairs, leading to the ramparts of M'dina, where you can sit, drink, eat and enjoy the view over the surrounding landscape to the sea.
Cakes are wonderful, service is good, but not extremely friendly.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“huge slices of cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Pretty cafe with amazing views over countryside. Fantastically priced huge portions of cake and slightly pricey hot chocolate /but worth it. Defo worth a visit

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Add to your 'must go' list...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Mdina must be visited when in Malta, and Fontanella must be visited when in Mdina. Now, by all means read the other reviews, perhaps consider dining options, but you really MUST go. The reasons have been stated over and over - the position, the view, and the cake!

Yes, you're likely to be somewhat shoehorned into what might be termed 'an intimate environment'. Yes, the service may be inconsistent. (On our last two visits we had one waiter who was utterly charming, and one waitress who literally chucked the menus on the table, came back 5 minutes later and barked "YES?") Should this put you off? No! We visit each time we're over there, have a drinkie, Mrs Boaty tackles an excellent cake, and we take the weight off and enjoy the stunning surroundings, allowing anything else to wash over us. Even if you don't take a meal there (and we don't) you must at least do as we do, or you will have missed out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Stunning views, so relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

It's not a long walk around Mdina, but it's worth taking a break for the pleasure of a beer on the terrace overlooking Valletta. It was a warm, sunny, January day when we went, we didn't need the umbrellas up, but they didn't spoil the view. The beers were cold, the cake was huge and dangerously calorific, what more could you ask?

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontanella Tea Garden also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Been to Fontanella Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontanella Tea Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.