We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, homely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciappetti

Ciappetti
5 St Agatha's Esplanade, Mdina, Island of Malta, Malta
2145 9987
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Krakow, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great food, homely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

this hidden gem in Mdina is well worth the visit. while others rush to Fontanella which is over crowded, I recommend eating at this restaurant. They have a very nice garden and the food is simply delicious. The family run restaurant gets top points from me and the hospitality shown upon our arrival, right through and lunch and even when we were leaving. Great food, value for money and time :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    112
    24
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very unfriendly service and extremely unpleasant manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We (me, my husband and 2 kids - one of 4 years, and another one of 1,5 years) have been in Mdina in April and a heavy rain started. We decided to go for a tea/coffee with a pie to this restaurant. Firstly we entered the door the manager said that they don't have any place for us (as soon as she saw the pushchair), but they had free tables inside (and not just few). When I said that we can close the pushchair and we can sit near the door on a table for two, she hardly accepted. Actually we did not have much choice as we did not see any other free restaurant nearby - and the rain was very strong. So we seat somehow and wanted to order teas and something sweet. But the manager (a lady) said that it was lunch time (it was not later than 12.00) and they cannot block a table by serving just desserts. Ok... so we ordered 1 main dish and 2 teas, actually we were not hungry at all, we had late breakfast at our hotel, but we wanted to stay inside because of the rain and having kids with us. The main course dish they brought was actually nice, but the portion was very small - no way to fill up with that. So we left as soon as the rain stopped, keeping only bad experience about this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“perfect romantic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The location is perfect. We chose to dine outside and had fantastic fillet of beef .... Every bit as good as the fillet steak we have in Scotland, a huge portion and the red winewas perfect. Service was extremely good. No faults at all. Perfect location for our anniversary dinner.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Family friendly restaurant with lots of variety on the menu. There was something to suit every taste and pocket. I am sure we will pay a visit on our next trip to Malta.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dessel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining on June Friday 13th, 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We (hubby and myself) visited this restaurant when we were for the 3rd time in Mdina. This wonderfull city has lots to offer and it is Always pleasant to come back. This restaurant, in one of the ancient houses, with lovely interior, art and court yard has a very attractive menu. Our waiter (medicin student) was very attentive. Our choices ; gazpacho, local cheese tray, pasta and meat dishes were very tastefull. Our host (we stayed in a B&B Rabat) arrived 30min after us with his family and 30 min later some other guests from our B&B. Not arranged but very significant !!!!
I would certainly dine here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciappetti also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Been to Ciappetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciappetti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.