We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay at Port View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port View Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Port View Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Port View Guesthouse
18 Triq il-Luzzu, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta MXK 1481 , Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay at Port View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a lovely B&B. We found the rooms to be of extremely high quality and the staff were helpful, friendly and extremely professional. The owner is very keen to ensure everyone has an enjoyable stay and is a mine of information about the island - so do ask if you are unsure. We arrived earlier than expected and did not want to drag our suitcases around. We called on the off-chance that we would be able to just leave our luggage. To say they went the "extra mile" was an understatement. I think this is a great place to stay and you will certainly not be disappointed. Marsaxlokk is also a wonderful place to stay. I think it is often overlooked for more of the higher profile resorts. What a shame...it is a hidden gem and a real taste of Malta. Definitely worth a trip and a stay at this wonderful B&B.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good. It is a very quiet village so you won't be disturbed. If the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have visited Malta but never stayed in Marsaxlokk before, Marsaxlokk is a picturesque fishing village with plenty of excellent restaurants, most of which overlook the beautiful harbour. The Portview Guesthouse is a lovely place to stay. The manager is very considerate and we were well looked after. The rooms are spacious and of a high standard, with good facilities as standard - Wi-Fi, a safe, fridge, hairdryer. They are clean and the beds are large and very comfortable. A big bonus is being able to enjoy a continental breakfast on the rooftop overlooking the harbour.
The bus service is quite frequent and easy to use, and there is a market on Sundays along the waterfront (which we sadly missed as we were not there on a Sunday). There are market stalls during the week along the front selling hand made lace items and other locally produced items.
We would definitely recommend this guest house, and hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Marsaxlok is one of the nice fisher villages that has not been spoiled by tourism. You'll find a lot of nice restaurants along the harbor. No noisy nightlife here. Since Malta is not a big island, you can reach most places within half an hour.
The guesthouse just opened in June and has a brand new interior. Nice bathrooms, comfortable beds, a small fridge and a small safe. The larger 4-bed rooms have a balcony and two queen size beds. From the terrace on the top floor you have a nice view over the harbor.
The breakfast is not very fancy, but ok, with nice local break, some meat and cheese, yogurt and fruits. In total a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband I have stayed 2 nights at the Port View Guesthouse in Marsaxlokk.
We enjoyed our stay a lot.
The Guesthouse just opened not to long ago, so must have been one of the first guest in that room, actually one of the first ones at all.
The rooms were spottless. The bathroom very modern and clean. The room was furnished with a table and a chair, a closet with a fridge and a small safe, a very comfy double box spring bed. It was really nice to have an AC even if we didn't need it all the time.
All levels are reachable by Elevator or Stairs
The breakfast area is on the top floor. There is an inside as well as an outside seating. Also here everything very clean and new. We really enjoyed breakfast and has such a great view right over the town and bay of Marsaxlokk. Parking is also no problem. Either free parking in the parking garage or right at the street. We always found a spot to park, did not need the garage.
The Guesthouse is located just a view steps away from the habour/bay and it's many restaurants to choose from. A small convenicnce store ist located close by.
The owners are very friendly and helpfull and always there to provide tips or help.
We can really recommend this little juwell in the town of Marsaxlokk. Thanks for the very nice time, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Port View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port View Guesthouse

Address: 18 Triq il-Luzzu, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta MXK 1481 , Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Marsaxlokk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Marsaxlokk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fishing village of Marsaxlokk, a 15-minute drive from Valletta, Port View Guesthouse offers air-conditioned rooms with a flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi. A continental breakfast is served daily. Free private parking is available on site.Yoghurt, jam and fresh fruits, but also cheese and ham are served at the buffet breakfast. In summer it can be enjoyed on the rooftop terrace.The modern-style rooms at the Port View come with tiled floors and a seating area. Each includes a private bathroom with free toiletries and a hairdryer.This family-run guesthouse is set 20 metres from the seafront promenade, where you can find seafood restaurants and bars. Malta Luqa Airport is a 15-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Port View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port View Guesthouse Malta/Marsaxlokk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port View Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.