We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at reasonable prices.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of il-bukkett restaurant

il-bukkett restaurant
Xatt is-Sajjieda | Marsaxlokk Malta, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta MXK 1303, Malta
21651819
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 43 Restaurants in Marsaxlokk
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Birkirkara, Malta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I visited this restaurant last Saturday with my wife, and we were pleased with the very friendly personalized service by the owner himself. If you want something that's not on the menu you only have to ask. My wife asked for a fresh local fish (spnotta), and she wanted it poached. All I can say is that it was done perfectly, and she really enjoyed it. I had a bowl of mussels cooked in wine, and also some fried calamari, which were both really good. I was very satisfied with the quality of both food and service, and shall definitely visit this place again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    5
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Have been going to il-bkkett for many years when visiting Malta,Mario and his staff which is really all his family have become some of our most dearest friends and if your a new visitor to this restaurant you will be treated like family.They serve the best seafood and their prawn cocktail is the best i've ever had but my husband would say its the lobster we pre order on each visit. A wonderful place to eat outside and take in the picturesque harbour - il-bkkett has one of the best selection of local and popular wines available on the island.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We got to serviced by the owner - that was a good experience. Fish was well done. Cakes were better than main course. They even brought a special hot drink when my wife said that she has sore throat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We came to Malta for a week in February and came to this restaurant every morning for breakfast which we all totally enjoyed! Staff and owners are very friendly and did all they could to make us feel welcome :) would recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Just too much food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A good menu, a bit pricier than some but too much food on the plate so that you can be overfaced. Owner very helpful and considerate - wine good too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il-bukkett restaurant also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 

Been to il-bukkett restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage il-bukkett restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.