We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ta' Victor Restauant

Ta' Victor Restauant
Misrah Madonna ta' Pompei | 36 Pjazza, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta MXK 9023, Malta
+356 9947 4249
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Marsaxlokk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $28 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ta' Victor restaurant is situated in the quaint fishing village of Marsaxlokk in the South of Malta. Chef/Patron Victor has a passion for traditional Maltese food and offers a menu that includes all the usual suspects when it comes to typical local cuisine. This ranges from rabbit to lamb, snails to octopus, lasagne to local fish and much more. It is all served in welcoming Maltese hospitality in a restaurant that is ideal for all the family. The location on the main Marsaxlokk square in front of the Parish church and right across the road from the fishing harbour is also a big plus which just adds to the local feel of the place.
Attard Malta
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Maltese traditional food at it's best, generous portions and great service. The starter is free and the desert also.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, Owner at Ta' Victor Restauant, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thanks very much sir, just short and sweet, thanks again. Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    58
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful food and fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We came here as a party of 10 for my parents-in-laws' wedding anniversary a few weeks ago and sat outside in the square. Victor came to greet us and we discussed the menu along with specials of the day. The food was exquisite and plentiful and Victor was attentive and charming as were his waiting staff. My husband's family is Maltese and have been coming to Marsaxlokk for decades and we are all agreed that Ta' Victor is by far the best restaurant in this beautiful fishing village. We couldn't recommend this place highly enough and we are looking forward to returning soon. Thank you Victor for making a special occasion even more special!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, Owner at Ta' Victor Restauant, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thanks for your fantastic review, and you are more that welcome back at our place. Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Maltese experience ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

In the village piazza, one looses out on the blue sea but gains from a traditional Maltese piazza !! Also, the food tops up the Maltese experience !! If anyone would like to taste food the way your Maltese grandmother would have cooked it, this is the place !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, Owner at Ta' Victor Restauant, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thanks for your sweet review. Appreciate your comments. Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Superb food in a wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I had the great pleasure to visit Ta’Victor in the fishing village of Marsaxlokk with some close friends; we had visited before for an impromptu lunch at Easter.

This very quant restaurant is run and owned by Chef Patron Victor Aquilina who is so passionate about the food he cooks.

We sat outside in the village square where table were plentiful, but it is an extremely popular restaurant with locals, tourists, dignitaries and celebrities all of whom are treated in exactly the same way.

There is no real menu and Victor greets all his customers himself and asks what they want to eat, a very personal touch.

We shared a mixed platter to start and had fresh tuna for a main course which was cooked to perfection, I could not fault the food whatsoever. Obviously in a fishing village you would be foolish not to have fresh fish, straight out of the sea onto your plate.

We sat with Victor, who is a character, till the early hours talking about old times and it made a very pleasant evening indeed.

It is always advisable to book.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, Owner at Ta' Victor Restauant, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. Appreciate your time to review. Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLIEMA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“ALWAYS A VERY ENJOYABLE EXPERIENCE ALL ROUND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We will go back again and again!!! cant wait to go back to this restaurant as it is so enjoyable in every aspect.What about Victor the owner is so pleasant and always makes you feel welcome..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, Owner at Ta' Victor Restauant, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
WOW...... what a review, this makes us more committed to keep always making our customer's visit more perfect. Thanks for your lovely review and you are always welcome back at our home. Victor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta' Victor Restauant also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 

Been to Ta' Victor Restauant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ta' Victor Restauant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.