We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food ok, Service horrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ta' Victor Restauant

Ta' Victor Restauant
Misrah Madonna ta' Pompei | 36 Pjazza, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta MXK 9023, Malta
+356 9947 4249
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Marsaxlokk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $28 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ta' Victor restaurant is situated in the quaint fishing village of Marsaxlokk in the South of Malta. Chef/Patron Victor has a passion for traditional Maltese food and offers a menu that includes all the usual suspects when it comes to typical local cuisine. This ranges from rabbit to lamb, snails to octopus, lasagne to local fish and much more. It is all served in welcoming Maltese hospitality in a restaurant that is ideal for all the family. The location on the main Marsaxlokk square in front of the Parish church and right across the road from the fishing harbour is also a big plus which just adds to the local feel of the place.
Malta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food ok, Service horrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

One of the few restaurants where you can find Maltese typical food. But unfortunately the service is horrible! Had to ask the waiter 3 times to bring me a bottle of water. When main course was brought to table, we had to wait fifteen minutes for the salad, chips and bread. I had to go to the bar and ask personally! By then food was cold to eat. No sort of apology, at least from the waiter. Will think twice whether to visit again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    58
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Satisfied, more than I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Will strongly recommend to foreigners and locals. We were around 25 people from the commercial section of Airmalta. Food was excellent and if someone is not really hungry,should avoid the appetizers and the Maltese "hobz biz zejt", as with this stuff you are already full.I ate fresh rib eye and was cooked to my tastes.The chef Victor, explained in detail what was the food we were consuming.Value for money and service during the night was fine.Better call in advance to place a reservation.Will definetly re vist.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fgura
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

great Maltese food,with explation about it from the chef and owner Victor,you have to be really hungry to eat all the food hehe!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zejtun, Malta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good food and beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I don't think I remember this restaurant in Marsaxlokk but I must say that it was a very good choice to sit in this beautiful 'misrah' with the new, renovated piazza in front of the Marsaxlokk church. The food was tasty, traditional and abbundant. The owner, ever though a bit slow with service, was very helpful with food suggestions, and I must say that he hit all my Maltese favourites! This is a restaurant I recommend gladly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The restaurant to go to for Maltese cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Greeted by a complimentary maltese platter, the experience at Ta' Victor is truly mouthwatering. We experienced stuffed pork, ribeye steak and maltese rabbit and all was excellent as was the level of service and friendliness of the staff. Victor the owner is very welcoming and explains all in detail. Also to die for is the coffee offered which has a special blend of herbs making all a unique experience. Well done.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta' Victor Restauant also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 

Been to Ta' Victor Restauant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ta' Victor Restauant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.