We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Ruelle Restaurant

La Ruelle Restaurant
Wilga street, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 21653664
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 42 Restaurants in Marsaxlokk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: WINTER OPENING HOURS: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday CLOSED ALL DAY: Friday 19:00hrs - 22:30hrs (Reservation recommended): Saturday 19:00hrs - 23:00hrs (Reservation recommended): Sunday LUNCH 11:00hrs - 15.00hrs (Reservation recommended): Sunday EVE 19:00hrs - 22:30hrs (Reservation recommended): La Ruelle restaurant in Marsaxlokk Malta offers a warm environment mixed with a taste of Mediterranean food, which will satisfy all your colourful tastes. Our rustic, yet contemporary atmosphere will make any time of the day a pleasurable moment to wine and dine with your family & friends. We offer tea, coffee, cakes, daily special, pasta, pizza baked in a traditional stone oven, various starters and main courses, fresh local fish/seafood and fabulous local and foreign wine. Our outside seating is pet friendly.
Zurrieq, Malta
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely family Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Visited this Restaurant for Sunday Lunch.
The quality of food is great, and staff is friendly and smart. Not an expensive restaurant and portions are good.

it has a cozy ambiance where one can enjoy himself.
Would recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharleneDeDomenico, Owner at La Ruelle Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure serving you.

King regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    19
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretty restaurant in Marsaxlokk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Visiting Marsaxlokk for the Sunday morning market,we managed to get the last table outside on the patio in the lovely sunshine. It's located just towards the end of the harbour where the market finishes. The waitresses all wore smart black uniforms with red scarves & looked terrific whilst taking orders efficiently. Simple home-made fare,beautifully cooked & presented & the owner came out to check we were happy with everything- we were!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharleneDeDomenico, Owner at La Ruelle Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure serving you.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lovely family restaurant in a quiet corner of Marsaxlokk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I really miss La Ruelle and their food! Without a doubt my favourite restaurant in Marsaxlokk. I have been in this restaurant many times and the quality of food and service were always up to my expectations. Pizza is excellent (and according to my husband, who is Italian and a big fan of pizza, the best pizza on the island) and I just love, love, love their octopus. And they definitely offer the best angus on the island. Plus the atmosphere (a beautiful mix of modern and traditional) and lovely owners and great staff! Keep up the good work and I really hope to return someday.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharleneDeDomenico, Owner at La Ruelle Restaurant, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It was our pleasure serving you. We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Limited choice, but excellent food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a typical traditional restaurant which one immediately associates with Marsaxlokk, the traditional Maltese fishing village. The place has a romantic ambiance, this together with the sweet staff gives it a warm and cozy environment where one can enjoy a casual night out.

The menu is quite limited, the specials and the pasta are mainly based on seafood (of course this is expected given that it is in Marsaxlokk!). There are a few plates which are associated with chicken and beef. However, a truly specialty of the house is the oven-baked pizzas. They are definitely not like the average normal pizza which one might be used to, but are made with all sorts of ingredients, which will definitely suit everyone! Me and my girlfriend had the same type f pizza – Teriyaki, and it was simply perfect. We went there initially planning to have a starter, followed by a main, but seeing this variety in pizza, we were curious to see what they actually offered. Besides being mouthwatering, we were not able to finish them! The waitress was nice enough to give them to us for takeaway.

In general, the price range is not at expensive at all, on the contrary we found it to be quite cheap!! I highly recommend it for a casual night out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharleneDeDomenico, Owner at La Ruelle Restaurant, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It was our pleasure serving you. We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsascala, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Glorious bowl of black mussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had the best bowl of black mussels today, served in a really tasty white sauce. We also had the seafood pizza and teriyaki pizza, really nice dough! Very good food and service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharleneDeDomenico, Owner at La Ruelle Restaurant, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It was our pleasure serving you. We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Ruelle Restaurant also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 

Been to La Ruelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Ruelle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.