We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service small dish” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ta' Frenc Il-koy

Ta' Frenc Il-koy
Xatt Is-Sajjieda, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta, Malta
27656501/99893071
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 43 Restaurants in Marsaxlokk
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Haifa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad service small dish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Really slow service and very small amount of praown And calamari
I paid 15€ for 3 praown and 8 pices of calamari .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mestre
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“IN RIVA AL MARE CON GUSTO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Peccato essere arrivati con la pioggia ... abbiamo mangiato benissimo ad un costo accessibile . Penso che mangiare in riva al mare con il sole ed un servizio così accogliente e gentile sia il top.

What a pity to be arrived in this good restaurant with rain.... We ate good fish at a good price. I think that this restaurant is the top in a sun day , when you can eat near the sea with a good service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“5 Stars at the Water Front”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The restaurant is our favourite water front on the island of Malta. A great ambiance if you are seated under the sun shades right next to the picturesque Maltese fisher boats, and during lunch time, you might see one of them bring in the catch. Which might end up straight on your plate :) We had a fantastic barracuda the other day. Service is attentive and very friendly, prices are good value for your money. 5 stars.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Look no further for lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

A first class place for lunch. The service is friendly and informative and the menu comprehensive. The wine served is local and enjoyable, the only pity is that we were here when the restaurant only opened at lunch times otherwise we would have visited a lot more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambilly, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Fish in Malta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having Lived in Malta for 2 years in the past I know well the country, enough to tell you that Fish restaurant are mainly serving frozen seafood.
even if it is caught of the day, morning to evening same day they freeze it! Just an habit they have but particularly annoying if one wants fresh fish!
The south of Malta is one of the treally few places where you can still find fresh seafood of the day.
This restaurant with no pretention at all has every points which matters: location with a nice outdoor "terrace" (large pedestrian sidewalk facing small harbour and sea, cleanliness (and I am a pain on that!), reasonable price (14E for a plate of Octopuss, 12E for Grouper).
Tables and chairs in plastic but it does not matter if you want fresh.
Though an advcie here, they have a long seafood list on the menu and even here a lot is frozen, but do not hesitate to ask what is fresh from the catch of the day and you'll have a choice with 2 or 3 nice item (this restaurant is managed by wifes of fishermen with their own boats!).
easy going lunch worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta' Frenc Il-koy also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 

Been to Ta' Frenc Il-koy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ta' Frenc Il-koy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.