We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tartarun Fish Restaurant

Tartarun Fish Restaurant
29 Xatt is-Sajjieda, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta MXK1301, Malta
+356 21658089
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 Restaurants in Marsaxlokk
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Impeccable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I have no words to describe how truly fantastic our dining experience was at Tartarun. Fish and seafood lovers alike should dine here at least once during their stay in Malta. The place exudes brilliance and the staff truly pays attention to detail. Treat yourself and pay this restaurant a visit sometime soon - it won't be easy on the wallet as admittedly, it is a rather expensive restaurant - but I promise you won't mind it one bit as every cent you pay is worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    82
    20
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Struer, Denmark
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Slightly overrated but ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Expensive, and not really worth the money. Slightly pretentious, but the staff are very nice. Food is mainly fish dishes. Fresh cathch of the day, the lobstertank with "fresh" lobsters is grotty and very unhealthly looking

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlijmen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“amazing fish restaurant in the south”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Been there a couple of times, we always book before we go, to avoid disappointment.
In my opinion this is one of the best fish restaurants in malta. Its also located in a nice area by the sea, where there is a market on sundays if one wants to have a look.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Sophisticated restaurant with attention to detail and a touch of family touch...located in the south of Malta, in the nice village of Marsa'xlokk (x=sh). I advise booking, which we did! The restaurant was full by 830pm on a Sat night. Good selection of fresh fish, wine selection and interesting sweets all served in a modernist style.

Probably one of the better restaurants in Malta, definitely one of the best down south!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best fish resturant on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Simply the best! A nice change from all the touristy fish restaurants in marsaxlokk. Quality food! Prawn Carpaccio is my favourite; love it!! Well done, will be back again and again!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartarun Fish Restaurant also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 

Been to Tartarun Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tartarun Fish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.