We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tartarun Fish Restaurant

Tartarun Fish Restaurant
29 Xatt is-Sajjieda, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta MXK1301, Malta
+356 21658089
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 42 Restaurants in Marsaxlokk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Zurrieq, Malta
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great restaurant for people who like fish and seafood. Prices are very fair. There are alternatives of meat and poultry. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Has a very nice ambience; and food was excellent. We were 2 persons; and we had the pasta with lobster, and for maincourse we shared a red seabream and a lobster. dessert was exquisite!!

I would go to this restaurant again :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    96
    22
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Msida, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite Fish Place in the South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Been meaning to write a review for Tartarun for a while. Very upmarket restaurant for this part of the island. Welcoming entrance, service is 1st class. nibbles before food, nice touch with different types of butter (we love bread n butter). Big selection of fish and although i usually love fish cooked in the oven, opted for the pan fried sea bass and it was gorgeous. Nice wine selection and tasty deserts. My only complaint was it was a bit noisy due to a large table. I know how loud we can be when in a large group so will not fault them for this. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A "must visit" restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went to Tartarun on our last night in Malta and were pleased that we saved the best for last. We echo all the comments. The food was absolutely exquisite and the service was perfectly charming. We had the black pasta parcels and king prawns with langoustine. The wine list was extensive and catered for all tastes and pockets. We wish we had eaten there more times during our stay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gozo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've been to Tartarun serveral times with friends. I think it's the best fish restaurant in Malta. There's a variety of starters, fresh fish, wines & desserts on the menu. I like to take the linguini with lobster & then as a main course I take fresh fish or the fish platter it depend's on the day's speciality which varies everday, it also serves meat. The service is excellent & all the waiters serve you with a smile.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Booked online on Friday at home. Sunday at 13:30 sharp we were at their doorstep - our table was waiting.
Wine list is comprehensive and full of great wines. Food was great with a large selection- mostly of fish food.
Service is quite slow - not sure if because they give you time to mingle amongst yourselves since the waiters seemed efficient but our lunch took 2.5 hours from start to finish.
Make sure you look the location up on the map - it took us some time to find the address.
Recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartarun Fish Restaurant also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 

Been to Tartarun Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tartarun Fish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.