We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no idea about service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Matthew's Restaurant

Matthew's Restaurant
65 Xatt Is Sajjieda, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta, Malta
35621653714
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 43 Restaurants in Marsaxlokk
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Vegetarian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Island of Malta, Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“no idea about service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

the owner opened the wine in front of us by putting the bottle between her legs and pulling off the cork
dusty environment
music was horrible and cd was skipping every 30 secs
we specified NO CUCUMBER on salad but still got the cucumber on the salad ( how could they mess it up when we were the only clients in the restaurant?)
we asked for jack daniels, the owner had to go get jack daniels from a restaurant nearby, we had to ask for ice cubes...and guess what? they didnt have! horrible restaurant! no way!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    37
    10
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loch Lomond - Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
292 helpful votes 292 helpful votes
“As always a top restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We ate hear a few times (as we normally do when in Marsaxlokk) and as usual Joyce makes lovely food and the service is always fast and pleasent with attention to detail and very good value.

Your Calamari starter was superb, thanks Joyce.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's not my first time @ Matthew's. We keep going there for the great octopus they cook. Nice owner & waiters. 1 complaint though... the portions keep on reducing every time we go. I am not a big eater but last Saturday s octopus main course was kind of a starter portion :( It would have been perfect if they left the same portions as last year's :) Very affordable prices and cosy restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor service, slow and terrible meals”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We decided to dine in this lovely fishing village on the water only to be disappointed with our meals and the service.

Just like the past recent reviews we also waited a long time for drinks and garlic bread to arrive. And it was 45 minutes before our mains came out, and that was only after we asked what the hold up was. A table sitting next to us also complained about the wait just for some water they ordered.

When our meals finally arrived they were more than disappointing: my partner ordered spaghetti and seafood half of which was still frozen and half was tough. You'd expect fresh seafood (and well cooked at that) from a restaurant near the sea! My penne with cheese and spinach was bland, undercooked and not very nice.

We sent our dishes back, paid for our drinks and left on empty stomachs. Very disappointing. Definitely not the best on the street as they claim.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Our order was taken fairly quickly. We had to put a lot of pressure on the waiter just to get the drinks, this being half an hour later! More assertive customers that had come in later were being served food, while the waiters were hushing us. Again we had to pressure the waiters to finally get our food one full hour later. Many customers were very annoyed at the appalling service they were getting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matthew's Restaurant also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 

Been to Matthew's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matthew's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.