We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful family run restaurant with tasty food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matthew's Restaurant

Matthew's Restaurant
65 Xatt Is Sajjieda, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta, Malta
35621653714
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 42 Restaurants in Marsaxlokk
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Vegetarian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delightful family run restaurant with tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

It's always a pleasure on holiday when you just happen to find a local eatery with tasty good value food and such friendly service that makes you feel like you're a regular. Joyce the owner is great fun and we also spent time at her brothers bar down the road. Definitely the place to go for fish and some nice Maltese wines.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    41
    15
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best simple and fresh restaurant with great value for money .. Child friendly and great atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went there for the first time with 4 kids and the food was absolutely delicious and the service was wonderful.. Very generous portions , I advised shared main course!! Fried squid and grilled prawn with butter, garlic and parsley must order!! Gabriella Campanale

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wouldn't dream of going to Malta and not visiting Joyce + Co.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went there on our first ever time in Malta 7-8 years ago and must have eaten there approching 50 times since, Friendly & welcoming with good simple food at reasonable prices.
I am an awkward eater as I am allergic to tomatoes - and they have always gone out of their way to adapt their menu.

Lampuki brilliant when in season
Even the Maltese eat there especially at weekends which gives a wonderful local atmosphere

Local Marsavin well worth a try
I have ticked November - but have visited in every month from Feb - Nov over the years

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The waitress was friendly and happy to tell us about the various fresh fish which was on offer and which, when it arrived was cooked to perfection. Add to that the free bruschetta which was brought out to us while we waited for the fish, the delicious vegetables served with the fish and the classic Maltese hospitality and you have a perfect Maltese experience!! We'll be back next time we holiday in Malta!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Place To Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We ate lunch and selected one of the specials but I did not like pene. The owner immediately offered to do spaghetti .
Family run with excellent food. I throughly recommend the restaurant .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matthew's Restaurant also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 

Been to Matthew's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matthew's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.