We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos du Quesnay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Clos du Quesnay to your Saves list
Le Clos du Quesnay
651 route de Rouen, 76440 Mauquenchy, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Mauquenchy B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We're a family of 5 - 3 kids aged 4-10 and we loved this place. We hope we can come back!

We stayed in the Jonagold family room - actually 2 rooms with a bathroom and loo - in the immaculate, beautifully refurbished building

The whole place is very comfortable and Jean-François & Sabine were very welcoming and attentive. It's clear they have a passion for the place and what they do.

We didn't manage the dinner but heard great things. Breakfast was wonderful

The gardens are huge and great for running around - there are swings, playhouses, big lawns and table tennis

We were stopping off en route back to the tunnel (2 hours away) from the South. It's very convenient for the A28, and given that all 5 of us could sleep in one place, far better value than 2 Ibis rooms. But the area also looks great so expect to be back to see it properly

Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
113
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

What a surprise find this was! We were looking for somewhere to break our journey from the Charente and this was just perfect, only 2 hours from the tunnel. The location was superb and the hospitality was excellent. Our hosts entertained and fed us through two huge meals (dinner and breakfast). Everything was home-cooked and beautifully presented, Jean-Francois giving a history of the house and the food and drink preparation as part of the meal.

The room was fantastic - a very large king-sized bed, with all the extras including a chest of assorted teas.

At 120 euros for D, B&B a real bargain and not to be missed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

some two years ago we were fortunate to come upon this beautifully renovated buildings and cultivated plantation. a short ride from dieppe,we came again in august 2012.
sabine and jean francoise are welcoming and offer beautifull rooms, great evening meals and an experience which includes sitting with other guests and sharing a lovely time around the din ner table. sabine and jean francous spare no effort to make their guests as comfortable and
satisfied

as the place is in the middle of the countryside (though minutes away from the nearby Forge les Eaux), it is wonderfull to wake up to very beautifull and wide grounds, feel peacefull and spaciouse. wonderfull if you have children who would enjoy running around securely and freely

as they are very much booked in advance, you are well advised to book as early as you can.

the accomodation and the evening meal are excellent value and a memorable experience. the best we had for a long time! warmly recomended.

Room Tip: we stayed in a room on the first floor of one of the out houses - beautifully done and very airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very warm welcome from Jean-Francois, the owner. Dinner looked quite an experience (French & English mixing well over great food) but we missed it due to our young children. Breakfast very impressive though - homemade cake, fresh fruit, lots of conversation.
Family room extremely comfortable. Actually 2 rooms with big bathroom (bath & shower). Comfy beds & cotton bedding. We had kingsize bed & 2 children had single beds. Tea making facilities. TV. Could open windows so not too hot.
Large gardens and excellent children's play area. Tables to have picnic on (we bought food from nearby supermarket).
Would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Have you ever slept in an old but totally refurbished caravan ? Well here's your chance. It's a pleasant experience for a couple or for a family. You can enjoy your own fully equipped trailer. You can first enjoy a nice warm shower and use the bathroom to make yourself up. There's a kitchenette for you to cook and then you can eat your dinner inside or just outside the caravan : on the small balcony or on a table. It is even possible to have a BBQ ! The trailers are great but still a little expensive for 1 night for a couple. The hosts were friendly, especially the husband but the wife insisted on us cleaning the trailer or having to pay extra money (30€) to clean it up !

Room Tip: try to get the "melrose" trailer. It's blackcurrant pink and hidden from the other car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife, daughter & I stopped here on our way from Calais to the Dordogne. Stayed in the main house in very comfortable beds. The evening meal was an experience not to be missed. 5 courses including wine, aperitifs and liqueurs - all for 26 euros. Each course is explained by Jean Francois. The food cooked by Sabine is fantastic. We were sat at the table for over 3 hours but despite the remainder of the table being all French we all had a very enjoyable evening. Breakfast was just as good - the table was full of breads, pastries, cakes and preserves. It all gave our holiday the perfect start. We will definitely be returning hopefully to spend some tine in Normandy. Once again many thanks to Jean Francois and Sabine - the perfect hosts!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I booked Le Clos du Quesnay for two separate nights as stopovers on our drive to and from the Le Mans Classic weekend on the Le Mans race circuit. What a find! The owners, Sabine and Jean Francois are the most charming, hospitable and friendly hosts and their beautiful home is the most wonderful place to break a long road trip.

Our room on both visits (Winter Banana) was spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom c/w bath, double washbasins and separate shower. The wc is in a separate room with a small washbasin. The decor, furnishings and fittings are all relatively new and of good quality and fit in well with the traditional fabric of the large farmhouse building. We immediately felt comfortable and relaxed - and very fortunate to have discovered Le Clos du Quesnay. The gypsy caravans in the grounds look absolutely brilliant and would be great for a family with young children.

The breakfasts are excellent, the table almost groaning with the collection of different home baked breads, pastries, cakes and preserves. But the crowing glory were the Table d'hotes evening meals where Jean Francois acted as the perfect host, introducing the guests to each other and then providing the most interesting and amusing commentary on the various courses and drinks. The food was fantastic, home cooked by Sabine to traditional Normandy recipes and using local produce. Jean Francois' home produced Armagnac is highly recommended and guarantees a sound night's sleep! Considering that the meal including four courses plus appetisers, all wine, aperitifs and liquers (Armagnac) and lasts for around 3 hours costs 26 Euro per head, it is an absolute "must do"!

I was slightly reluctant to write such an honest and fulsome review because one part of me wants to keep this find a secret!

Room Tip: I doubt that you could have a poor room. They are all different and make use of the natural features...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Clos du Quesnay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos du Quesnay

Address: 651 route de Rouen, 76440 Mauquenchy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Mauquenchy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mauquenchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an old farmhouse dating from the nineteenth century, on four hectares of gardens, at three kilometres from the historical and tourist town called « Forges les Eaux », « le clos du Quesnay », meticulously restored suggests you five rooms : one is for people whose mobility is reduced. They are luxuriously furnished and decorated. A private room and living room are at the guests’ disposal. You can book for buffets or greedy dishes composed of Norman food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Clos du Quesnay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos du Quesnay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.