We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - Trip of a lifetime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariblu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mariblu Hotel to your Saves list
Mariblu Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Mariblu | Mgarr Road, Xewkija, Island of Gozo XWK9015, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Xewkija B&B and Inns
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Trip of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

There are various reviews about 'the door didn't lock', the rooms were old fashioned, there was only one teaspoon and whatever below, but hang on a minute...let's put things in perspective!
Every single door locks. I know because I checked. If you want something locking and can't manage it yourself ask one of the many staff members to do it.
There are a million teaspoons in the restaurant. Just ask. The rooms are all being done up as we speak, and at the end of the day the styling is fitting to the venue and island. The bathroom was a brand new fitted suite, the decor was simple, it was spotlessly clean and had everything we need. If you want luxury go elsewhere because the rooms are basic but thats the point. You get what you pay for.
The staff are incredible, they greet you by name, remember your order, Maria even drove me into the nearest town when I ran out of milk for my baby in the evening and hadn't realised the local shop was shut. They can't do enough for you. The owners personally pick you up and drop you off to and from the ferry port and organise any aspect of your trip you need help with. The food is incredible, the restaurant is excellent and everything is so reasonably priced. We are a young family who wanted to have a 'nice' break on a budget and I was actually a bit worried given what I paid that I would be roughing it. What we got was the trip of a lifetime, incredible diving, a superb apartment to stay in with a beautiful pool and garden overlooking one of the most famous churches in europe. If you are thinking of staying here, do it. It's fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for the family apartment, room 2 in the main building. Its lovely. Also, be aware that the websi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    2
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Beautiful place. Half way between ferry and capital of island.
Bus stop in front.
Best service, familiar. Large rooms.
Next to neolithic and other archeologic/historical sites (Ggantija temples, Dolmen, Cart Ruts, Windmills and museum, Calypso grotta)
biggest church ever found in such a small place (view on church, very near)
Services: WLan, boat, diving, shuttle .....
Swimming pool
Excellent restaurant.
- : running water in bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed there in winter (after Xmas) and the place was very quiet. We enjoyed a big room with view on the swimming pool. It is possible to cook by yourself (small kitchen inside the room) but in summer, you can eat downstairs, in their restaurant. Maria and Franky are very helpful and take care of there guests (for cooking, to fetch you at the ferry, to give a car ride and arrange bicycle rental, etc.). They like to talk about their island and it’s an easy way to get contact with locals.
The guesthouse is ideally located for climbers (close to the main climbing spot).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

HI,
I don`t suggest to stay in this guest house. I booked to stay in the this guest house shown in website. When I arrived they gave me a room in other old guest house that was very small, old and ugly not as shown in the pictures in the website. Its not worth it to pay money for this.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

This is one self catering family pension. Rooms are old fashioned, but suitable for cheaper standard. Bathroom is old fashioned UK type.
It is really family guesthouse, with very friendly atmosphere. Frankieś diving center is great, and diving on Gozo is absolutely one
of the best.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariblu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariblu Hotel

Address: Mariblu | Mgarr Road, Xewkija, Island of Gozo XWK9015, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xewkija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Xewkija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariblu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariblu is family run and provides accommodation in twin rooms with private shower and toilet, air condition, kitchenette, TV. At the Mariblu you will feel at home and will be considered as a new member of the ever growing family where you arrive as a customer and leave as a friend. The Mariblu is your home away from home. You will surely love Maria's local traditional cooking as well as our hospitality for which many keep coming back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mariblu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariblu Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xewkija, Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariblu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.