We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Dinner Dance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornucopia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cornucopia Hotel to your Saves list
Cornucopia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Xaghra
Xaghra, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Dinner Dance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Gozo branch of the British Residents Association in the Maltese Islands arranged this event for its members and their guests on Friday 12th December. Guests were greeted with a welcome cocktail before being seated at one of the 10 tables laid out for them. The band began the evening with some numbers appropriately chosen for the guests before their charming singer joined them to continue the entertainment. Dinner was buffet style. Soup,hors d'oeuvres, salads, roast meats, vegetables, dessets, cheese.............do I need to go on? I'm sure the wine assisted the evening as there was much dancing after the meal was finished! Service from the hotel staff was first class. All in all a faultless evening. Well done!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    143
    51
    14
    3
See reviews for
99
226
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 4 nights in November and have already booked for next year.
Staff are great and the entire premises is very clean.
Only gripe is the hot breakfast. It should be just that. The food tends to be only warm and once you put this onto cold plates it's not enjoyable. Something that is easily remedied.

Room Tip: If you want a hot cup of tea with your breakfast wait a couple of minutes after the last user of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hi Brian and Co... just wanted to thank you for another great weekend at the Cornucopia. I liked the fish dishes for both the a la carte and also the buffet. Wish you and the rest of the team a very Merry Christmas and a happy New Year.

Room Tip: Corner suites offer a fantastic view across the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, reservations at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Stephen G,

Thank you for your kind review.
Best wishes to you and your family.
Regards,

Toke Galea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have not stayed here just ate in the restaurant when live music. I think music and eating do not mix, you are not listening and must be off putting for the performers which deserve our attention and means you can not talk to the people you are visiting with.

The food was of a quality you can expect in mass catering OK. Carvery meat mostly good but vegetables and puddings not. Wine very overpriced charged 14 euros for a bottle local supermarket sells for 3.

Courtyard entrance charming.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked with Mercury Direct to Malta what a disaster they gave easyJet a completely different name so I was unable to obtain the Boarding Passes which they require you to do online, that was eventually sorted only for me to discover that Mercury had dropped another clanger by stating the dates for arrival at the hotel were some 5 weeks later than had been booked.
Mercury use easyJet what a disaster of an airline, as a tall person I attempted to pay extra and upgrade to a seat with more leg room, although according to the plan these seats were available the system would not allow me to do so, instead I was allocated a seat of their choosing.
The lack of leg room between these rows is appalling, I question whether my basic Human Rights are being ignored, even the humble sardine is served with a slice of tomato and olive oil in their tin can.
This is made all the more galling when you see the seats with more leg room either unoccupied or occupied by children or others. Next time Air Malta and a different booking company for me.
On to the hotel A great hotel with a very decent. Manager, Food first class, staff excellent, perhaps the rooms could do with updating.
Pool Area, wondered why given the clement weather no one was around the pool area, I soon found out as I was bitten many times by numerous flies and overnight these bites turned into lumps and began itching like crazy, I ended up at the local pharmacy who apparently were doing great business selling Anti-Histamine cream and tablets.
Not being able to sit around the pool meant instead having to go to the local beach a 45 minute trek away or wait for the local bus which ran every 90 minutes if you were lucky.
Went to look at the Grand Hotel by Gozo Port with view to staying there sometime in the future and was greeted by a very surly young woman in a trouser suit who seemed more interested in drinking her coffee than answering any questions.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, reservations at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear duck186338,

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year.
Regards,

Toke Galea
Cornucopia hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this hotel has bags of charm, in a wonderful location. I cannot find fault with my week there, the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. The rooms are nicely furnished with loads of space to store your belongings. There cleaning staff are amazing and work so hard to make each room fresh and clean every day. I can honestly say I had a wonderful week with my partner and I would definately recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing time. But just a reminder take some walking shoes with you as you will need them, unless your brave enough to tackle driving in Gozo lol. Needless to say I wasn't I used the buses which are so cheap and run on time.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the valley as the views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, reservations at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Carol R,

We thank you for staying at our hotel and your kind review.
We hope to be able to welcome you both again in the near future at the Cornucopia hotel.
Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year.
Regards,

Toke Galea
Cornucopia hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Stayed here with my husband for the third year running, for some autumn sun (only spoilt by a mini cyclone for 24 hours, but very exciting watching the storm over the valley). This hotel is clean and well appointed, and Brian and his staff are always pleasant and helpful. We stay on a bed and breakfast basis, as we like to eat in the excellent restaurants on the main square, an easy 10-15 minute walk away. This also means a chance to mingle with the friendly locals and do some people watching. The hotel does have a variety of rooms, some are bigger and have more facilities than others, we stayed in room 24, which is a spacious suite, 2 balconies, loads of storage and seating, a Jacuzzi bath, massive separate shower, two sinks, and unlike some more basic rooms, a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. You do pay more, but you get what you pay for! Unlike some others, I am delighted that there is only Wi-Fi in certain areas, I cant see the point of spending your holiday glued to a mobile or tablet/laptop. There were even people (and not business people, whom I might be able to excuse) using devices at breakfast...get a life! Also, unless you are very infirm, ignore those who say you need a car to explore Gozo. This simply isn't true. If you don't want to walk (and Ramla, Marsalforn and Victoria are all in walking distance of between 45mins to 1hr 15 mins) then get the bus. One euro for 2 hours, one euro fifty for one full day, six euros fifty for a weeks bus pass. How cheap is that? Get a very easy to read timetable from the bus station in Victoria and you can get all round the island on clean punctual buses, or as we did, walk downhill to where we wanted to go, and get a bus for the uphill back to Xaghra. We will return to the Cornucopia next year, it's an ideal base for the island, and we have met lots of people there who have been returning for many years, always a good sign, and lovely to see them being greeted by name with a hug and a kiss from the staff. Thanks again Brian and everyone, see you next autumn!

Room Tip: Pay more and have a suite, you wont regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, reservations at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear salandmick,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to meeting you again.
Wishing you both a merry Christmas and a happy New Year.
Regards,

Toke Galea
Cornucopia hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornucopia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Hotel

Address: 10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Xaghra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornucopia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cornucopia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Hotel Xaghra
Cornucopia Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornucopia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.