We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ... but some improvements can be made” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornucopia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cornucopia Hotel to your Saves list
Cornucopia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Xaghra
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely ... but some improvements can be made”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

A great time!

Not much more to add over other reviews but would give 4 as there are some things missing:

Heated pool

Tea/coffee facilities in room

Better wifi in lounge

Friday feast lovely, but there are better local restaurants for general evening meals

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Andrea R,
Thank you for your comments and suggestions.
Stay assured that all has been noted, and were possible will be implemented.
Hope to welcome you again,
kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    143
    52
    14
    3
See reviews for
99
226
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have just returned from a week at The Cornucopia Hotel & what can I say, this was one of our best holidays yet. We love Gozo & this was our third visit to the island. This hotel is relaxed, friendly & the ideal place to get away from it all & not have to stand on ceremony! The staff are second to none, they are so helpful & friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them. Our room was cleaned every day, sheets changed, towels changed, the house keeping staff do a great job. The restaurant is a joy, once again the staff are so friendly & helpful, particularly Alan, he is a star, so cheerful every single day, I don't know how he does it!! Breakfast is great, there is so much to choose from that it would be a very difficult person indeed that could not find something to please them. We ate in the restaurant most nights, there is a great value three course set meal or you can choose from the main menu, Friday night is a delight, there is a buffet & I should think I managed to put on half a stone with just that meal alone!!! So much choice & really delicious. We had a very early flight on the morning of our departure & there were sandwiches & fruit waiting for us to take on our journey for breakfast, you just have to request the day before & whatever you want will be provided. The front of house staff are welcoming, the manager is friendly & helpful (repeated this a lot but it is so true), I just cannot recommend the hotel highly enough, God willing we will return, hopefully on a yearly basis :)

Room Tip: Depends what you are looking for, we had a room overlooking the pool & courtyard which was lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Janet L,
Thank you for finding the time to share your recent holiday experience at Cornucopia Hotel with Trip advisor community.
We are really pleased to read that you found all Hotel amenities to your expectations. All your lovely comments have been sheared with all the team, Alan sends his regards.
Hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

You may think your driver has gone wrong as you have to go through a residential area of small roads to get to the Cornucopia right on the edge of town.
I have been twice this year ( Jan. and Feb.), the hotel is also on the edge of a valley . I have had torrential rain one day each visit and the valley is an immaculate collection of little well kept terraces in all shades of green. ( Probably not so from May on).
Being labelled as "inland" I was suprised to see that the valley leads down to Marselfon on the coast and sea views.To have these views you need to be on the front of the hotel, or in the bungalows ( fully equipped flats ) opposite. The first time l was on the side, could still see Marsalfon, but was in the shade, this might be a plus in summer when you can walk through to enjoy either of the pools within the hotel grounds as you wish.
The rooms are spacious and kept very clean. The bungalows have easy room for four.
The food is good, the breakfast has ample choice ( the little bread rolls with onion are being missed here !) One thing I would like to see is smaller ammounts of hot food put onto the buffet more often than one huge tray that can sit there for a long time.
The hotel could do with a bit of zhushing up here and there so long as the charachter of the place is not lost and it's hard working, pleasant and loyal staff still want to work there, and it's regular clients keep coming back to keep the friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: For the views, you want either a front or corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Roddy 89,
Thank you for finding the time to share your experience of your second visit with trip advisor community.
We are really pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay. Your comments have been shared with all the team, especially about our staff whom we join you in congratulating them for the dedicated work they put in.
We hope to welcome you back yet again.
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We loved this holiday. It is nothing like your usual package tour hotel. It is quite small and very olde worlde with lovely staff and comfortable rooms. Breakfast is the standard euro buffet and lots of it. The evening meals are a la carte except Friday which is carvery night. All evening meals are splendid and cooked from fresh. Puds are not very exciting but you probably won't manage more than a mouthful. We travelled with Mercury Direct and will definitely repeat book with this company. Gozo is great,the Cornucopia is great. Don't go if you like noise and clubbing. Do go if you like scenery and peace. While there visit the Cafe Reale in the village square for fantastic cakes and very reasonable lunchtime snacks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Christine R Kelly,
Thank you for sharing your recent holiday experience at Cornucopia Hotel with trip advisor community.
We are really pleased to read that you have enjoyed Gozo and the Cornucopia Hotel.
Hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

According to the Independent (I) newspaper of 20th February 2014, in rave reviews of the best islands in Europe (TripAdvisor website) Gozo is voted number 3 out of 10. We agree. Just returned from our second holiday there. As seasoned travellers who NEVER return to a destination we have broken our rule. The Cornucopia Hotel and the delights of GOZO drew us back. it's like coming home. Loyal staff at the `Cornucopia are genuinely welcoming, service is lovely, rooms with valley views are superb and value is great.

We like walking of the downhill non- heroic kind. The island offers fantastic coastal and valley walks where there is always a bus waiting to take you back up the hill.

Room Tip: Work out whether you prefer the sun in the morning or the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear John F,
We really appreciate your time to review your second visit to Cornucopia Hotel.
On behalf of all the team would like to thank you for such lovely comments about Gozo and the Cornucopia Hotel. We as Gozitans are really proud of this rating and give us great satisfaction.
Hope to welcome you again,
Best regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il Gzira, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed a couple of times in this hotel, and I was always happy with the service and room, everything. It's a pity that there was no free wifi in the rooms but only in the dining area. I find that a bit odd that a guest needs to pay extra for wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Sarah Micallef,
Thank you for finding the time to review your stay at Cornucopia Hotel.
It is with great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your repeat visit, and hope to welcome you yet again.
Best Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed in the Cornucoppia hotel last June and had a most enjoyable time., so much in fact that we've booked in again for this June which is something we never do return to the same place the following year
The staff,food,and location are excellent and the Hotel is just the right size
Perhaps the bathrooms could do with some attention and somebody should be available to carry luggage to rooms
Apart from that can't wait to see everybody there in June
Local buses are ok but tend to turn up when they feel like it,so maybe hire a car for a few days to see the island.

Room Tip: Try for a valley view room apparently they are the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Phoenix Suffolk
Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip advisor community.
It is with great pleasure to read that you will be visiting us again this June as that is a testimony in itself.
Looking forward to meet you again.
Best regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornucopia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Hotel

Address: 10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Xaghra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornucopia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cornucopia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Hotel Xaghra
Cornucopia Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornucopia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.