We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornucopia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cornucopia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornucopia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Xaghra
Xemxija, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My family and I spent a night in The Cornucopia. We had problems with the booking, due to the company we used (Gala hotels.com) having an error on their sytem. The Receptionist was great, very helpful and friendly. Couldn't do enough for us.
We also the breakfast was very good and the position of the hotel was super.
Will be going back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, Front Office Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear xemxijas,

We thank you for your positive feedback. It was a pleasure having you and your family here with us at the Cornucopia.
Kind regards,

Toke Galea
Reservations Cornucopia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    130
    38
    12
    3
See reviews for
81
191
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is situated in a quiet location with breathtaking countryside views. The common areas of the hotel are beautiful. Both the reception and the restaurant are well kept and have a very cosy feeling. The swimming pools and their gardens are also beautiful and well kept. The downside are the hotel rooms. There is no lift in the hotel. Rooms are accessible by stairs, half or one and a half flight of stairs, making it difficult for disabled persons and families with young children. The rooms also have no privacy since they are accessible through a common terrace, therefore one has to keep the curtains drawn all the time and has to share the terrace with others. Moreover, the bathrooms desperately need refurbishement. They are around 30 years old and everthing looks worn and broken. The only positive thing about them is the good water pressure. The rooms themselves desperately need refurbishment. They are definitely not 4 star standard. They are very big compared to rooms in other 4 star hotels though!
The staff are welcoming and helpful and breakfast is one of the best we have had in Gozo. There are several choices and the food is of very good quality.
The hotel has a very good potential if they had to refurbish the rooms and bathrooms.

Room Tip: Do notify the hotel beforehand if you have mobility problems or are travelling with pushchairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing week at the Cornucopia and agree with the other positive reviews. Brian and his staff are friendly and helpful, the setting is lovely and best of all there are no reps badgering you to take trips or join in "activities".
The food was excellent, carefully presented and served, and the local wine much better than one might expect for the price!The whole holiday was great value for money.
Try to get a west facing room to enjoy the sunsets from the balcony.
The only downside was that to catch a morning flight home we had to be up very early, to get the ferry across to Malta, but even at 6am there was a light breakfast laid out for us.
We shall definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have been visiting the Cornucopia for about 15 years and this year was just as good. The hotel is a lovely relaxing and friendly place. All the staff are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is excellent. Brian the manager is an asset to the hotel. We look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Valley view rooms are the best, especially rooms 31, 32 and 54 to 57. The first floor valley view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shifnal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a great place Gozo is & The Cornucopia Hotel is even better.Brian,the Manager is a most helpful & charming chap & if something is possible he will do it for you.He deserves the credit for the way the hotel is & how smoothly it runs.The food is excellent & alcohol prices are very reasonable.We will definitely return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We took the excellent airport express coach direct to the port. It takes an hour but only cost 2.40 euros each. The hotel welcome was slightly off hand. Our room 45 was comfy but the cheap pine furniture, the air con that dripped water and the shower that flooded the floor meant it felt less than 4 star. The west facing balcony overlooking the valley towards the sea compensated for any defects.
The buffet breakfast was fine but our 2 evening meals were disappointing compared with meals in local restaurants.
Xaghra centre with its cafes and bus stops is only 10 minutes walk away. Doing the return walk twice a day was a bit of a chore on a hot day but worth it for the hotel's quiet location.
The hotel's courtyard and two pools were delightful and very relaxing.
There was a good mix of residents - a few families, mainly couples, mix of nationalities.
We'd happily go back. The climate, the character of the hotel and the friendliness of the island are all such positives.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

After spending two wonderful weeks at the hotel Cornucopia I had to write to say how good our stay was.
Arriving at Luqa airport late at night, airport transfers went smoothly as did the ferry over to Gozo. We were welcomed to the hotel by the night manager whom showed us to our room. Aircon running, lights & fan on, (it was very hot that night). The following morning we were met by the knowledgeable Mr George Gauci, our local rep.
Situated in Xaghra the hotel has a warm homely feel, which comes naturally from the general manager Brian down through all the waiters, waitresses and the hotel cleaning staff. We were greeted every day with smiles and a good morning, (Nothing seemed too much trouble).
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, although we did have dinner on a couple of occasions the food and service was very good.
On Friday nights there is a bbq with entertainment around the lower of the two pools. It’s one to go to as the atmosphere is wonderful.
In Xaghra square which is a 20 min walk from the hotel there are some lovely restaurants and cafe’s at which you can enjoy good food, wine or local beer ( cisk). We tried several of them and were not disappointed at any. The Orleander can get quite busy so you might have to book.
Travel around the island can be done on the buses which go from the main square to most destinations around the island, however if you want to discover Gozo yourself it may be better to hire a car for a few days. A visit to Gozo would not be complete without a boat trip around Gozo & Comino to see the blue lagoon and the crystal clear waters and beautiful bays around the island.
We will return to the Cornucopia and the beautiful island of Gozo again for our next annual holiday.

Room Tip: Try to get a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cornucopia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Hotel

Address: 10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Xaghra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornucopia Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Cornucopia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Hotel Xaghra
Cornucopia Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornucopia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.