We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food but a bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gianni's

Gianni's
Marsalforn road | Barbarella Building, Xaghra, Island of Gozo, Malta
+356 9991 3879
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Xaghra
Cuisines: Italian, International, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: My son Stefano and I moved from Torino, in the North West of Italy, to Gozo after coming here on holiday several times. The reason is that we were in love with the people, the way of live and the sea that this island was offering us. Here we noticed that the italian cooking is well known and reproduced mainly concerning courses that belong to the South of Italy. On the contrary, we've hardly had the pleasure to taste some of the ones from the North. In order to supply to this lack, we would like to introduce some of the traditional courses from the North of Italy and, in the same time, to propose the favourite local dishes (excellent fish, savoury meat, ripe vegetables...) but differently cooked, following our own special style.We will try to make you experience unprecedented flavours, discover unknown virtues of already famous food in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere where to spend happy hours. We will make any effort to make you satisfied. Thank you.Gianni
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Read the reviews and decided on this for evening meal. The food can not be faulted as it is excellent flavoursome and delicious . The staff are friendly and attentive and the setting is great . Had an enjoyable meal but the mains lacked some basic vegetables as the beef was served with salad and potatoes to share amongst 4 people. Although good food this is the most expensive meal we have had to date on Gozo . €170 for starters and mains 2 bottles of local wine and coffee.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano_Remondino, Public Relations Manager at Gianni's, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review. We do our best to make the whole experience of our customers great.
I'm sorry that you thought there were sides missing, we prepared just one bowl of salad and one of potatoes in order not to crowd the table with too many dishes. We are always ready to bring more if a customer needs, as we also are prepared to give vegetables instead of salad when customers (as they usually do) express their preference. Most probably it was my mistake not to specify it more explicitly.
About the price I feel the need to remind you that the mains you had were fresh beef fillet with Porcini mushrooms and the coffee you mentioned was 4 Irish coffees; the local wine had the average price you can find anywhere on the island. I write so only because I think that writing simply starter main and coffee as you did is a bit misleading and I want it to be clear that in our restaurant is also possible to have a starter a main and a coffee for half of what you paid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    13
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Superb cuisine and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Charming people, and with a heads-up they'll happily cope with dietary restrictions.

I generally love Italian food but this is special. Piedmontese cuisine is definitely worth further investigation.

Great decor too but mainly the food. The eggs were simply delightful. Don't miss them, I'd go back just for that!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano_Remondino, Public Relations Manager at Gianni's, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for this great review!
We think that everybody deserves to eat great food and this is why - when we were still in Italy - my father (Gianni) studied to be able to cook for everybody independently from their needs.
We hope to see you again when you'll be back in Gozo.
Gianni's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a lovely evening here whilst on a recent holiday. Both Gianni and Stefano were extremely welcoming and the service was brilliant. They give the restaurant a very personal touch, giving it a very friendly atmosphere. We learnt a lot about the incredible food we ate and were able to experience traditional North Italian dishes. The views across to Marsalforn from the terrace were incredible. We wish you both good luck and look foward to returning in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano_Remondino, Public Relations Manager at Gianni's, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
It's always a pleasure to know that the efforts we make to make our customers' dinners special are appreciated. The dishes from the North of Italy are a whole new world to the international restaurant environment, and we are proud to make it known.
We look forward to have you again with us in the future.
Gianni's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xaghra
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We live in xaghra and visited Gianni's. Wonderful restaurant, excellent fresh food, and friendly hosts. The dishes we had were consistently excellent and well explained. This restaurant is a real find and worth the trip, walk or bus to get there. Well done to everyone at Gianni's I hope that you will be with us for a long time to come.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano_Remondino, Public Relations Manager at Gianni's, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are very happy to read your review. We make our best to make every customer feel completely satisfied.
We hope to see you soon.
Gianni's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Charming hosts and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Gianni and Stefano are welcoming and charming hosts and very obliging. They were wonderful in helping one of our party who is coeliac and therefore needs a Gluten Free diet, but Gianni was brilliant and very knowledgable. It was very quiet when we went and I hope they build up there new business quickly to allow into grow and flourish. The views from the terrace are stunning.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano_Remondino, Public Relations Manager at Gianni's, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for this great review. We are very happy that our experience with celiacs in our agriturismo in Italy could help us satisfy all of your needs, because to eat well and enjoy food is a right of everyone. Hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gianni's also viewed

Xewkija, Island of Gozo
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Gianni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gianni's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.