We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rubbles Bar

Rubbles Bar
Xaghra Square, Xaghra, Island of Gozo, Malta
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We ordered our meal, then were served starters, on the house, after that we had main course and then desert. Their home made ice cream is superb. Then we were offered liqueurs on the house. All in all an excellent meal and not too expensive.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    20
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Xaghra square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very underrated restaurant.... in a great, late night, very friendly bar, frequented by locals and tourists alike.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

After a couple raved about this little restaurant we decided to give it a try. Wow. Here is place to get good food. The fish cakes are amazing. I had a pasta dish with sun dried tomatoes and chicken breast that melted in your mouth. The prices are shockingly low for such good food.
Run, don't walk to Xaghra in the centre of Gozo. Find Pjazza Vitorja in the centre of town. Sit down, order just about anything that takes your fancy and enjoy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Fabulous food, Michael the chef is a genius. His whitebailt fishcakes were to die for. Audrey the boss is lovely, very friendly, always on hand to have a chat and give advice about local walks and attractions, and quick with refills of beer for thirsty walkers! This quickly became our "local" for the week and is one of the main reasons that we shall reurn to Gozo next year.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xaghra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rumbles at Rubbles!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rubbles bar is one of the reasons that Xaghra is one of the best villages to visit in Gozo whether you wish to eat or drink or be merry!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubbles Bar also viewed

 
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Rubbles Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubbles Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.