We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tal-Furnar Bar & Restaurant

Tal-Furnar Bar & Restaurant
136, Gnien Xibla Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo, Malta
+356 2155 6372
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 16 Restaurants in Xaghra
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Malta
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We discovered this last year by accident, and from time to time venture back. Its a nice little place that makes pizza in the old oven which makes it taste much better. They also make pizza ftira which is really good. On this occasion though, I found an extra ingredient in my food which made it quite an unpleasant experience. Although I do understand that this can happen when women work in the kitchen, it has rather put me off the place, and I don't think I'll be able to stomach a pizza from there any time soon. Having said that, previous experiences at this place were very pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaMarieFarrugia, Manager at Tal-Furnar Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We do apologize for any inconvenience that was to you displeasure. We take great pride in the food that we serve. If you could have advised the waiting staff that you were displeased with your food we would have been more than happy to redo the pizza or serve you any other item from our menu free of charge.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    18
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

On our first visit to Gozo we were lucky enough to be staying just round the corner from this place. A place with true family tradition as it's backbone. Tony and his family made us welcome from our first visit.

Food was superb, and portions so generous that we had to admit defeat. House wine (also made by Tony) was amazing and free flowing, with no hangovers! We kept just kept coming back for more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Gozo many times and stayed in xaghra many times we have also walked past here many times ! Why we never stopped I will never know :) everything about this place is fantastic great food , friendly , fantastic price :) try the house wine 10€ you won't believe it .. It's a must while your in Gozo

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gava, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Order spaghetti with rabit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Simply delicious! Sth I found pretty curious about all restaurants we had lunch / dinner in Xaghra is that the waiter just does not ask you if you'd like sth for dessert. For the rest, everything was perfect.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verolengo
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Gozitan tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We weren't looking for a romantic restaurant but for a traditional one and we found the Tal-Furnar ! Meat, fish and pizzas are cooked in a stone oven and they're delightful . Pay attention to the huge amount of food and think before ordering starters, soup and main course together . Ask for the catch of the day and you won't be deluded . Nice waiters , especially the Italian guy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tal-Furnar Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Tal-Furnar Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tal-Furnar Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.