We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home in Xaghra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poppet's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Xaghra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poppet's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Poppet's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Xaghra | Elizabeth House, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 1707, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Xaghra B&B and Inns
Verolengo
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Feeling at home in Xaghra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 7 days at BB Poppet's and everything has been perfect : the original farmhouse is perfectly restored and clean , swimming pool is beautiful and the breakfast is good. But above all the success of this BB are the owners: Margareth and Karl have been very kind with us and they gave us many advises and information about Gozo so that we were able to understand and live Gozo really.
We hope coming back soon.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lomianki, Poland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a very relaxing stay in Poppet's Bed and Breakfast. We felt like at home. We enjoyed the lovely breakfasts on the tarrace. The views are really lovely and this is such an idyllic place. We were able to get around easily as we had rent a car and Margaret gave us lots of tips on where to go, what to see and where to eat. Ramla Bay and beach are superb. The Xaghra main squere is the place to eat, to drink coffe, to buy fruits, olives and local cheese in the morning and to spend time with locals in the evenings.
WIFI is available.
The owners also keep supplies of bottled drinks (eg water, coke, beer, wine etc) in the honesty bar - really nice solution!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had a very relaxing stay in Poppet's Bed and Breakfast. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed the lovely breakfasts. The views are lovely and it is such an idyllic place. We were able to get around easily and Margaret and Karl gave us lots of tips on where to go and which restaurants to go to. Ramla Bay has a lovely beach. Superb accomodation & Great Hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I simply could not reccomend Poppet's highly enough. Margaret and Karl are the perfect hosts, and the fact that they enjoy what they do is made evident in every part of your experience staying in their lovely home. The breakfast is delicious and healthy, the best I've had at any bed and breakfast. The house and rooms are charming, clean and comfortable, and the location is perfect for both venturing out to see the islands attractions, or to be a quiet getaway.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ramla room, which had a wonderful view of the valley and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret T, Owner at Poppet's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your days on Gozo. In spite of being a bit unlucky with the weather you made the most of every opportunity to explore the island, even taking a top seat on the hop on/hop off bus and said you actually enjoyed the windy experience. We hope the rest of your holiday was as good and that you take a whole lot of memories back with you. You will have so much to tell the boys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Amazing B&B hid away on a quiet little road close to the center of Xaghra. The hosts (ex pats from the UK) were lovely and very helpful when our map reading skills failed us. The house itself has been beautifully renovated to a high standard with bright airy spaces and unfussy and comfortable rooms with good showers! Out the back is a beautiful sun terrace with great views down to the sea at Malsalforn and lovely private pool. Breakfasts were friendly and well presented (plenty of choice) and lots of snippets of good advice for places to go and see. Owners also keep supplies of bottled drinks (eg water, coke etc) in the honesty bar that proved very handy for when we went exploring off the beaten track. Wifi also available which is an essential these days. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just returned from another stay at Poppets and I highly recommend it to anyone who needs a stress free getaway. This place is so peaceful it should be bottled and sold or put on Prescription by a GP.Honestly you really have to try it. The hosts Margaret and Karl make you feel special and for us its like ' GOING HOME' We had breakfast outside on the patio in March with beautiful views and sunshine what more could we ask for.We enjoyed our stay over Easter and saw the Easter parade on this lovely Isle. Also its a lovely experience to sit in the square in Xaghra with a coffee or a glass of Vino and just people watch. Enjoyed some wonderful food and company and will be returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: All three rooms are beautiful and tastefully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret T, Owner at Poppet's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
It was so nice to see you both again and what a brilliant weekend we had. You arrived in time to see the Good Friday Procession and on Sunday it was really nice to have coffee with you both in Xaghra square and just people watch - there is always something going on !!! You had lovely weather too and what a nice start to the day - breakfast in the sunshine!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nice small B&B in Xaghra -Very welcoming. Nice rooms, plenty to eat at breakfast with fresh fruit a nice touch. Relaxing lounge area. Free WiFi.

Xaghra is a good base to explore Gozo - 10 minutes by bus from Victoria, 5 from Marslforn - walkable to nice spots e.g. Ramla bay.

We were there in early spring - so it was not warm enough yet - but the small pool would be great in summer. There's a small cluster of restaurants / bars 5 mins walk away in the centre of Xaghra.

Room Tip: Ramla room is excellent - with a terrace overlooking the valley and beyond that the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret T, Owner at Poppet's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you and it was a pleasure to have you staying with us. We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of the fair weather to enjoy your walking trips and see so much of this beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poppet's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppet's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Xaghra | Elizabeth House, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 1707, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Xaghra
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous farmhouse bed and breakfast with swimming pool and stunning views to the valley and sea of Marsalforn. We are located in the attractive and interesting village of Xaghra, home to Ggantija Temples, Calypso Cave, Toy Museaum and the best beach on Gozo, Ramla Bay. Our bed and breakfast is in a quiet street and ideal for relaxing and is only a five minute walk to the village square where there are a selection of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poppet's Bed And Breakfast Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppet's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.