We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ta'Kola Mill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ta' Kola Windmill

Ta' Kola Windmill
Xaghra, Island of Gozo, Malta
+356 21561071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 8 Attractions in Xaghra
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ta'Kola Mill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very interesting windmill with may old exhibits from days gone by, the mill was under repair when we went. The sails had been removed

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    21
    19
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ta' Kola windmill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had visited the temples in Xaghra so we had free entry to the windmill on the same day with our ticket. It was very interesting to see how the family lived and worked. The windmill was under restoration which was very important so we didn't mind. We were staying in xaghra anyway so we didn't need to go out of our way to see it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ta Kola Windmill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a lovely example of a Gozo windmill. Although it is currently having restoration work done and without its 6 sails, it is a gem.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Gozo History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stop and visit this windmill and its museum. There's a lot of history and the docents are particularly knowledgeable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You can expect a better experience then I had.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Under construction and so the top floors weren't open. If you are going to visit during the later part of 2013 you should be able to see the windmill in it's entirety. That being said, the displays give you very good insight into everyday Gozitan life as it was prior to WWII and maybe a little longer after that.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta' Kola Windmill also viewed

Xaghra, Island of Gozo
 
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Ta' Kola Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ta' Kola Windmill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.