We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oleander

Oleander
10 Victory Square, Xaghra, Island of Gozo, Malta
356 21557230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Xaghra
Price range: $0 - $33
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Last weekend we stayed in Xaghra and as we normally do on one evening we went to the Oleander for a meal.

No booking just arrived at the restaurant and we quickly given a table.

As is the norm with this restaurant we find that it serves good fresh food without too much fuss but food that satisfies our taste buds.

Service was quick slightly too quick perhaps [so great for those that would be in a rush] but overall very satisfied with the service.

As my wife does not drink any wine I asked for half bottles, selection is rather limited and wine was not that cold but drinkable although having it in ice and water soon put the temperature down.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    81
    27
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Xaghra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“always good if not the very best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

some of the best food on the island and not too expensive. The owner is a fantastic guy called Mario and he has now leased the restaurant to, I believe, a relative who has continued to provide a high quality of both service and food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Limited menu.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Xaghra restaurant we were aiming for was closed so we parked in the square where there was plenty of choice. We had stopped at Oleanders just last week but only for an afternoon coffee and that was a pleasing experience. So we studied the menu which was rather limited - I thought there might be a page missing but checking with my friends we found all our menus the same. However, having sat down and our drinks order taken, we were given a verbal list of 'specials' thereby expanding our choices.
The food was adequate although one choice (a 'special' lamb fillet) was exceptional and the quantity required a 'doggy bag'.
The Manager was professional and personable. The lovely waiter could do with just a little more training.
There were no puddings on the menu nor offered verbally. Bit surprised at this as it would have added value to the whole experience especially as this was a birthday celebration.
Like many Gozo restaurants there was little to make this a memorable evening so we will continue in our search rather than become regulars at the Oleander.
Maybe we'll return for an afternoon coffee though!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Have potential but must improve their level of service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice setting & good menu so why ruin it all by no service?
25 min after seating we finally managed to get the attention of a waiter that told us they were so busy.........
with a half full restaurant! Hello! What will happen when full?
Did'n help they were "out of rabbit" either....
No, there are places better than this at the square!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant in a lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stopped here for lunch whilst on a tour of Gozo and the food was excellent and the staff were friendly and provided a good service. Generous portions and the rabbit is excellent. Good value for money as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oleander also viewed

Xaghra, Island of Gozo
 
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Oleander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oleander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.