We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous locally produced food in a lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grapes Wines Bar

The Grapes Wines Bar
St. George's Square | 8 Pjazza San Gorg, Victoria, Island of Gozo, Malta
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 32 Restaurants in Victoria
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous locally produced food in a lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stumbled across the grapes while looking for somewhere else, but had read reviews in the lonely planet and were hungry and thirsty after our travels so took a seat in the square. The only downside was that all of the tables in the shade were taken as it was a hot day, but that wasn't the restaurants fault! Good service even though they were clearly very busy and we were offered drinks and menus almost immediately. We had a delicious Gozo cheese salad and a sandwich washed down with some local wine and a couple of pints of Cisk, all of which was very reasonably priced with generous servings. This was our first real experience of Gozo as we were on our way to our accommodation in Sannat and it set the tone for the rest of our holiday, indulging in great cuisine and equally good wine. Start as you mean to go on, I say!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    62
    25
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gem in the square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

wandering around the gorgeous shaded streets of Victoria we had earned the right of a cold Cisk. We found ourselves in St. George's square in the middle of siesta time there under the shade of an umbrella we sat at the only free table and quenched our thirst. Food was being delivered all around us and it looked delicious. We came back one evening and were not disappointed the food was delicious my husband voted his lasagne the best he has ever had (I thought mine was the best he has ever had!!!!) A shared Goxitan platter to start 2 yummy pasta dishes for main and a too easily drinkable bottle of local red we were on the bus back having had a wonderful night out. The waiter was very helpful and asked us if we would like to wait for our main dishes we appreciated this we were not rushed and had the added bonus of watching the church and square being made ready for their Festa.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rabbit Raviloi mmmmmmmmmmm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in Rabat for just 3 days on honeymoon and this became our favourite place to relax. We ate here on 2 nights and on 1 afternoon. Delicious!
Fantastic service the 1st night (Sat June 29th) one waiter and he was absolutely brilliant at his job! I couldn't commend him enough. Pizza and pasta were beautiful too.
The next night we ate here was Mon 1st July, different waiter, service quite good, rabbit ravioli was absolutely divine, I was a little bit sad when I finished it (I can't remember what my husband got)
And the last time was for lunch on the Tuesday, young waitress on this day, service was ok, food was delicous, goats cheese platter and lasagne

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, null, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“cool place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

good food service is good and atmosphere is very good friendly people mixed locals and tourist great experience

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dreadful unprofessional service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great position in the centre of Victoria but the owners should sharpen up or sell up to someone who knows what they are doing. Training is not a word that can be combined with the appalling customer service. The waiters seemed to avoid eye contact and we observed other customers - who had been at their table for some time - getting up and going to the waiters desk to find themselves menus.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grapes Wines Bar also viewed

 
Victoria, Island of Gozo
Victoria, Island of Gozo
 

Been to The Grapes Wines Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grapes Wines Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.