We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arzella

Arzella
Ghar Qawqla Street, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo, Malta
+35621554662
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 33 Restaurants in Marsalforn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This restuarant serves brillant food, has great service and is definatley worth a visit if you are a foodie. Staff do remember you if you have dined there before and make you feel very welcome.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    49
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Spectacular setting, and an authentic taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I would say one thing to start with. Getting a good table is very important at this restaurant! If you can book one of the tables at the far side closest to the sea, the view, breeze and atmosphere is excellent. The service here is very good and the staff are extremely attentive. We had the fish starter which was delicious and pasta main! I would definitely recommend fish at this restaurant. The portion sizes are normal and didn't kill us off so for once I managed to have two courses as I find some places in Gozo give too much food as a main and I always end up too full or struggle to finish. My only criticism which is nothing much to note, is in the fish starter, the white bait fish cakes were very boney. I am aware they are supposed to be, but they were not to my liking. This place offers delicate food and meals, with excellent presentation of food and I was pleased to see that the food was not too oily or saucy, always a good sign of fresh good quality food. As always in Gozo, you can eat wonderful food at fair prices unlike other places. Thanks- we will return! Your pasta Vongole (which I have every time I eat out in Gozo) was super. Add Pasta Rizzi to your specials ;) I'll be very happy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Lovely place..fantastic food....10 out of 10
Gorgeous views.brilliant restaurant. Great atmosphere. Will be returning very soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booker Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My partner took me here for a romantic dinner. We had already been to quite a few restaurants nearby. We arrived early and enjoyed a lovely French red while we discussed the menu. We told the attentive staff we were not in a hurry. They respected that. The owner, Chris, arrived just after 8 pm and came to greet us. It was evident he was ver proud of his restaurant. He made a few suggestions and assured us we would not be disappointed. WE WERE NOT. The seafood antipasti for two was quite an assortment including the most succulent mussels in a delicious broth. The other stand out here was the crumbed calamari which was not only very tender but quite tasty. For mains, I had the local red snapper baked whole. The waiter offered to fillet it but I'm ok with this. It was yummy - obviously freakish! My darling had his usual - Atlantic salmon which he enjoyed immensely. I could go on. Bottom line - Go! It's worth it! This place is in the pearl amongst the oysters.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

A group of 8 of us turned up without a booking and they accommodated us immediately. The view from this restaurant is divine at sunset, and we were the unfortunate tourists taking loads of pictures. The food was delicious and the portions were huge, I don't think even the hungriest of boys finished theirs. We had a whole lot of mixed starters, mains, quite a few bottles of the local wine, and with a tip it came to about €40 each, which was great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arzella also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Arzella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arzella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.