We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arzella

Arzella
Ghar Qawqla Street, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo, Malta
+35621554662
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 33 Restaurants in Marsalforn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Valencia, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Recommended by locals and we absolutely loved the view and the breeze was so refreshing from the heat of summer. The wild caught seabass baked in salt was amazing as was the seafood platter that accompanied it, best fried calamari, so light and not oily at all. Very dissapointed with their prawn and avocado salad, way too much dressing(mayo) and their signature dish of spaghetti marinara was just okay for me. But do go for the view, fresh seafood and relaxed service

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    49
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Opole, Poland
2 reviews
“Arzella review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I came there and I really like the seafood I ordered there, but what I found really annoying was the service... We were waiting to be served for ages... it seems like the waiter has forgotten about us ( though he had time for smoking! and talking with his friends that were there) All in all, the food that I was finally given was really good, yet they must work upon the quality of service for sure!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quite Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was introduced to this place by Gozitan friends of mine who recommended the fish. I honestly had never heard of the restaurant despite the introduction on the menu claiming to be world famous! The meal wasn't bad but given the recommendation I expected it to be much better especially since my fish was under cooked.

Having said this the view is amazing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always like it here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great food and welcome at this favourite of ours over the last two years.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not what I remembered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I've eaten here on a few occasions and always visit when I am in Gozo. The food is wonderful. The view is terrific and the staff friendly and attentive.
The inflight magazine for 'Air Malta' says that the restraunt,...'Feels. The warmth of an island and its people.'
Unfortunatly I didn't find that this time. It all felt a little lacklustre.
Now don't get me wrong. My wife and I had a large fish platter and a bottle of wine between us, the quality was faultless. I'd order it again, right now, if it weren't for the 1500miles between me and the restraunt.
I was told that recession was a worry. If that's the case, please use this place as much as you can and it will become its lively old self again in no time.
On the other hand, if you have never eaten here ignore my 'lacklustre' remark and go anticipating some really great food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arzella also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Arzella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arzella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.