We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Hotel

Save Saved
You added Calypso Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calypso Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marina Street | Marsalforn Bay, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo XRA 105, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Marsalforn
Wokingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for a week mid september. The hotel is lovely and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early for check in but our room was ready so checkin was very efficient. We had a bay view which is on the side of the hotel, very spacious, clean with a bath/shower. Beds a tad hard but thats a personal thing. Breakfast was good and plentiful with lots of choice for everybody. Pool area had great views, small but it was nearing end of season so not crowded. Had lunch at the pool bar a couple of times, reasonable prices for a hotel. We left very early on checkout day, the kitchen staff had packed us a breakfast for our journey home which was very welcome.

Room Tip: Side or front of hotel, back rooms looked over residential area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    167
    39
    19
    11
See reviews for
41
209
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

When we arrived it was a dull day and being near the end of the season the resort itself seemed a little bleak however on entering the Hotel Calypso we were pleasantly suprised to find a building that had clearly been refurbished recently and was white marble top to toe! The facilities were excellent (fantastic shower!) and we ate well in the harbour-front restaurant with waiter-service at dinner. We had purchased a "Dine Around" card again but discovered that the only places we could use it were scattered across the island - the Calypso was our only option unless we travelled at night! Having said that the food was excellent - we recommend the Gozo chardonnay! The staff were helpful and friendly. We paid extra for a sea/harbour view - and it was most definitely worth every penny! We would go back again and head for the same room. The only downer was that the coffee shop/boutique were closed for refurbishment. The hotel has a lovely rooftop terrace and snack bar but it was pretty empty in the evenings, there was no real ambience and the barman wasn't particularly customer-friendly. My husband ordered a coffee (having spotted the expresso machine) and was served up instant! Needless to say we discovered a local cafe/restaurant in front of the hotel which provided our drink and coffees for the remainder of the holiday. Lovely quiet resort -great for divers and ideal for people like us wanting a peaceful swimming/walking holiday with something to keep us amused in the mornings and late evenings - the activity around the harbour is exactly what we'd love to have at home!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea/harbour view - you'll regret not doing so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Two weeks in this hotel at the end of September and beginning of October. We booked and paid for a sea view room (through a far more reputable travel company than Molly experienced!) Spacious, clean, sunny room, with a large balcony and a wonderful view over the bay and the small harbour - well worth paying extra for. Four floors up, so not a lot of noise from outside, and anyway the airconditioning masked what noise there was. There was some building work going on, which we could hear during the day when sitting on our balcony, but it never really bothered us. Lovely breakfasts, with lots of freshly baked bread, cheeses, cold cuts and other goodies. Efficient, courteous staff, who provided excellent service. Two issues - like Molly, we found the bath towels to be small and of poor quality, and the beds were also rather small, with sheets that weren't quite big enough, making for some slightly uncomfortable nights. But these are small niggles only, and overall our stay was great. Wonderful range of restaurants just outside the hotel front door - had some wonderful meals, and the local Gozo wine is excellent. The hotel is also a great place to stay if you're a diver - they are connected with Calypso Diving just along the road, and if you stay at the hotel you get a 10% discount on the cost of the dives (but not equipment hire). Loved our stay, and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on the fourth or fifth floor, to get a great view and to lessen noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful stay in Gozo staying at the Calypso Hotel. The hotel is lovely however we had a bad start due to the poor service we received from the Travel Agent, Barrhead Travel. I specifically asked to be booked in a seaview room with a balcony and three times I was assured by the staff that although they had put the request on the booking form they could not guarantee it but as it was a quiet time of the year we would be able to get one. On arrival at the hotel we were allocated a tiny room at the back of the hotel with no view at all. The balcony was also tiny and when I asked to be changed to a seaview room I was told that this could only be had if I paid 147 euros. I did pay this amount as we could not have stayed in the allocated room for 1 week. The staff told me that the Travel Company was a 'low cost budget firm and they had should have advised me that there was a charge. Fair point, this was not the hotel staffs fault, although to be fair they could have been a bit more helpful and sympathetic. It was a case of pay up or take it and leave it basis. I am really annoyed at the travel firm as should I have been told there was a charge to pay this would have been paid at the time of booking the holiday and this would have saved the distress at check in. I was later advised by staff and other locals that this is the usual 'trick' the travel company play on customers. It appears they block book the back of the hotel and when unsuspecting customers like us complain the hotel picks up the upgrade fee. Not fair in my book. So if you are intending to travel and stay at this hotel and expect a seaview or bayview room make sure you have paid for this at the booking or be prepared to pay on arrival. Rant over. The room we had was fine, clean and serviced each day. Towels were clean and changed each day however, they were in poor condition and small. There was building work going on each day all day in the hotel just above our rooms, the hotel was converting a room to a piano bar. At no time during our stay did the staff apologise for the noise or inconvenience at being woken up each day with a mechanical digger working. In fact we should have been offered a refund in my book. The location is very quiet at this time of year and would only suit middle aged to retired age groups as there was nothing to do at night or during the day for that matter. The bus service is excellent and we travelled each day to Victoria and caught other bus services to all over the island. The food is excellent in the restaurants be prepared for large portions though. Prices were excellent and I would recommend this place for either long weekend stays or 5 days as a week would be a little long if you do not want to travel and tour the island.

Room Tip: Make sure you have booked and paid the correct room tarriff
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

After a shaky start because of a long 36 hours without sleep and our room not being ready on arrival we were a bit unsure as to what to expect. One hour later when we were given the key any doubt were dispelled. The staff are polite and accommodating, the hotel breakfast offers plenty of choice and the rooftop pool and terrace are a nice area for relaxation. Will definately be staying here again when we return to Gozo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were told that this hotel would be 'tired' but we found it anything but. From the moment we were greeted by helpful reception staff and offered free WiFi, we knew our stay would be enjoyable. Our room was clean with plenty of storage space and well looked after by room service. The breakfasts (and the chef who cooked the omelettes) you could die for, sat at our table with a panoramic view of the bay. Lots of quiet places to read, contemplate, just relax. Drinks were very reasonable with a roof top bar open well into the evening. The hotel was ideally situated for restaurants and cafes, and the excellent local buses.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We have been visiting Gozo since 1974 and have found the Calypso to be the best hotel on the island in our opinion. The staff are very accommodating, and friendly. The rooms are very clean and well furnished,including a TV and fridge. There are plenty of sun beds, large umbrellas by the rooftop splash pool. Pool towels are also available from reception for a small refundable deposit
Marsalforn has a lovely small sandy beech, a fishing harbour 3 supermarkets, a pharmacy and a good selection of gift shops. You are also only a 10 minute bus ride from the capital Victoria
There are plenty of dive shops but I believe the Calypso dive shop to be the best. Snorkelling in the bay is also very good.
We shall definitely be returning next year for three weeks in September
Mr & Mrs A Grimes

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calypso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Hotel

Address: Marina Street | Marsalforn Bay, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo XRA 105, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Marsalforn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Marsalforn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Calypso Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Otel and Venere so you can book your Calypso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Hotel Marsalforn
Calypso Hotel Gozo
Calypso Hotel Island Of Gozo/Marsalforn, Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.