We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food on a rough and dark night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neptunes Restaurant and Lounge

Neptunes Restaurant and Lounge
Marina Street, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo MFN5114, Malta
+356 2156 1665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 31 Restaurants in Marsalforn
Price range: $6 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Qawra
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food on a rough and dark night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had a long weekend break in Marsaforn for a December weekend Marsaforn was deserted and we were approached by the owner of the Neptune on a afternoon walk - he got the points fro trying award and we returned at 8pm for dinner - I had a excellently cooked Sea Bream and my wife had the home made ravioli. The chef had been brought in just for us we were the only diners but the owner was attentive and the food and wine good. No idea what the place would be like in the season but the chef can cook fish which was clearly fresh that day (There says the son of a chef)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    7
    3
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin.ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“"You won't go to bed hungry when Frank is around"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Neptune’s Restaurant and Lounge Marsalforn Bay Gozo we found this place by chance on our first night in Marsalforn we arrived late on a Saturday night and everywhere was closing up we asked all along the road and everyone said they were closed we were just about to give up and go to bed tired and hungry after a long flight when the owner came over to us and asked us what we wanted he told us he could do roast chicken and chips, well we were delighted the girl that served us was so nice she did not seem to mine to much that she had been delayed she chatted away to us telling us she learned her English in the west of Ireland, till the dinner came out and then she went home, the owner whose name is Frank was telling us he and his son have taken over the Restaurant and are trying to build it up after it got a bad name from previous owners. The Chicken and chips were really lovely that night. We made three more visits to Neptune’s in our 10 day holiday to Marsalforn Bay on another night I had homemade Ravioli and all I can say is you got to try them because words are not enough hubby had fish we both had Bruschetta as a starter and a bottle of house wine. This place has a lovely setting it looks out over the whole bay. For our 3rd meal in this lovely restaurant with these lovely people that treated us so well I had Chicken with homemade mushroom sauce homemade chips and salad, hubby had rabbit stew, he said it was the best he had tasted in a very long time. If you’re passing this place do call in and try some of frank and his son’s lovely food and hospitality.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Looking for a late lunch but a bit put off by smokers around and slightly brusque service. Just had a latte each which was OK but not great

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrick s, Manager at Neptunes Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
The smokers referred to were sitting in front of Neptunes Lodge which is a bar. They were smoking outside the premises which is legally permissible. In fact the tables outside Neptunes Lodge are without a table cloth.The clients could have sat on the restaurant's 'tables which are in front of the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“New chef, new management, Great Meal!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Visited Gozo for the day and ended up in Marsalform at lunchtime, loads of restaurants around the bay, and we got chatting to the new owner as he showed us the menu. What swung it for us was the diners already in situ, their meals looked fantastic. We ordered mussels, marinara pizza, and spaghetti, and all 3 meals were tremendous! Great portions,nicely cooked and Beautifully presented. A gorgeous spot right on the edge of the waterfront, so the view's amazing too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Food was amazing, especially the sea food platter. Cutomer service also very good and personnel is very nice. The location is exquisite, there is seating outside right by the sea with a beautiful view. Really worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptunes Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Island of Gozo, Malta
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Neptunes Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptunes Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.