We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menqa L'Antika

Menqa L'Antika
Marina Street, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo MFN 1052, Malta
+356 2730 0309
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 31 Restaurants in Marsalforn
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Nestled in the picturesque fishing village of Marsalforn on the tranquil island of Gozo, Menqa L'Antika awaits you to savour authentic local and Mediterranean gastronomy with a modern flair. Chef patron Gordon Camilleri, has created an exciting menu using the islands' tasteful and freshest produce. Carte du jour includes antipasti, fresh pasta, fish and shellfish, tender beef cuts, flambe dishes and homemade desserts. Thanks to our extensive wine list, every dish can be paired with that wine to create a fine art. Attentive service, exceptional food and a relaxing ambiance make Menqa L'Antika ideal for romantic dinners, families, friends as well as larger parties.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I have been coming to Gozo for over twenty years and have not yet eaten such wonderful food at such reasonable prices.
Sounding a little too effusive, well I make no apology, it just was that good.
Lunch is relaxed whilst Evenings are more formal, the food is a modern twist of local dishes , we ate there both at lunch and in the evening, service was excellent and the food brilliant.
We have three children 5, 3 and 4 months and brought them with us for every meal we had and we were all well looked after.
Thank you Joselle, Gordon and Maria
Paul, Melanie and the kids

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    25
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
romford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“just the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

we loved the food ,its on my list to go agen when we are over

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We had two great meals at this restaurant, which has only opened this year. You will spot it because the tables and chairs are not the usual plastic ones but have an up market feel with real linen tablecloths and napkins.
The food and service was excellent. We had fresh fish one night and lamb another. Definitely worth visiting.
We will be looking forward to visiting again in September.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhättan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

This restaurant is a Pearl!
Go there before they get to famous and expensive ;-), beacause they will!
The owners gives you fantastic service and exellent food to very good prizes.
They also have fine wines- both local and others.

Miss you! Kristina and Henrik- "the divers"

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tried them all, Menqa L'Antika was the best by far. Chef Gordon is fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

The owners, Gordon and Joselle, had another restaurant in Marsalforn - but opened their own place Menqa L'Antika and had only been open a few weeks when I visited. Gordon developed the menu to serve local Gozitan cuisine. At the start of our week, we had a meal and the food was great and only a few people were dining alongside of us. By the end of the week, the restaurant was packed!
When I return, it will be my first port of call and I will e-mail or ring Gordon to order ahead the traditional rabbit!
Good people, good food! They will cater to you! Good value for money.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menqa L'Antika also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Menqa L'Antika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menqa L'Antika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.