We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not forget to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Our Lady of Ta' Pinu Basilica

Our Lady of Ta' Pinu Basilica
Gharb, Island of Gozo, Malta
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Gharb
Attraction details
Marsalforn, Malta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“do not forget to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Do not forget to visit "Our Lady of Ta'Pinu Basilica. It is well worth.
The Basilica is a Pelgrimage. Please stop here and pray.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    47
    15
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Religious importance but no masterpiece”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

From the religious point of view, Ta' Pinu is a very important shrine. For an atheist tourist it is nothing special. The church is relatively new, the architecture is typical to Gozo and Malta, there is nothing in the vicinity worth stopping by, as it was built in the middle of nowhere (which means very close to everything in Gozo). Still there many interesting legends and stories to learn about the origins of the shrine and people connected with it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I only saw this from the outside but the architecture really is stunning. You can see the church from many points in the Island

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

It is unique and in an impressive setting with lots of history. there are many legends including the one of the holy man who performed miracles during his lifetime

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Something special here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were taken here while on a one day tour of Gozo island. We thought..."another church"..and there are many in Malta & Gozo, & many beautiful ones. But there was something very special & lovely in this church. It is beautiful on the outside & inside & there is a special wall which contains letters & stories about miracles that happened to people. Very interesting & touching. We were glad that we had the opportunity to visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Lady of Ta' Pinu Basilica also viewed

Island of Gozo, Malta
 
Victoria, Island of Gozo
Victoria, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Our Lady of Ta' Pinu Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Lady of Ta' Pinu Basilica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.