We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comino Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comino Hotel to your Saves list
Comino Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Niklaw Bay, Comino SPB08, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comino
Bordeaux, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great location, average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

don't expect a great hotel, the rooms are basic and the food pretty average. It's a nice place to stay if you want to relax by the pool and walk all around the island. You can go to Gozo with the hotel shuttle, just a short ride away. Think it's pretty expensive for what you get according to Maltese standards .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    87
    57
    28
    23
See reviews for
67
108
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

If you want to enjoy the scenery, peace and tranquillity - the absolute 'nothingness' of Comino, then you will put up with this rather tired old place, which basically is relying on its location and takes its customers for granted. You don't have a choice. I stayed in a bungalow room, some ten minutes' walk from the main hotel, though they will send the minibus for you if you call. These bungalow rooms are large, much larger than the hotel rooms, and are right on the sea, with good balconies - fabulous to sit and read; and to sleep lulled by the sea. There is, after all, absolutely nothing to do on Comino except walk the island, swim, and relax.

As it was early in the season, they were only serving breakfast at the main hotel, not at the bungalow restaurant. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The food is frankly poor - the evening buffet is the usual standard fare, uninspiring and the same as any other mass-tourist hotel. OK maybe for a couple of nights (which may be the average stay for most visitors?), but very boring indeed - pretty much the same night after night (just with a change of roast) if you stayed as I did for a week. Overall, I suspect the hotel, with its short season, is underinvested in; it needs a lot more attention, thought and money spending on it if it's to drag itself out of the 1970s. But then it would have to cost more - and for the moment at least it remains good value.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Shabby, terrible food and the worst thing is that you are stuck on an island that you cannot easily get off.
Now, this could be totally amazing, if they changed everything. The hotel needs a refurb, there needs to be edible food, and the service needs to improve. The rooms are uncomfortable and there is nothing to do at all.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Comino hotels

birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

This hotel is in a stunning location and has everything going for it but could be so much better. I went right at the end of the season so it was blissfully quiet and I really would not like to be there at the height of the season. Great pool for serious swimmers because it's huge and no one ever went in it except me. It's not heated and it's salt water but it was beautifully warm at 7.00am with the sun glittering on it and well cared for and clean. I had a sea view room in the main hotel which was perfect. I really was lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks below. The only down side was that every other guest in the hotel seemed to chain smoke so I couldn't have my window open as much as I wished. Bungalows down the beach are a bit out of the way and I was glad I wasn't in one of those. But, had I been on a romantic holiday the bungalows would have been perfect. Food was really average. Very much catering for a German taste - lots of processed cheese and meat for breakfast, but there was plenty of it. Staff are really friendly. Rooms are clean but so basic. There is no attention to comfort at all. A set of proper pillows and a squashy duvet would have made all the difference. The bed was really 'mean'.
This place is stuck in the early 80's which in itself is quite quirky but it is desperate for a makeover. The hallway carpets look worse than the ones in a sticky pub. I wouldn't want to walk on them with bare feet.
I was here on my own for 3 nights after 4 nights on Malta. It was a good combination as there is absolutely nothing to do here except walk and swim. I read 2 books lying on the rocks above the fabulous blue lagoon which is simply amazing to swim in (so long as you don't mind the jelly fish the size of car wheels - no, REALLY!) There were crowds od day trippers even this late in the season but nothing compared to the summer I imagine. it didn't spoil the serenity because they were easy to avoid.
Great place if you really want to find some solitude. If you are a snorkeller it is wonderful. But if you are a bit nervous like me it can be frustrating because you really need someone with you to explore the rocks around the bay of the hotel. Felt completely safe on the island and would certainly go again for longer - out of season again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eNGLAND
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

As a break from the noise and dust in Malta we saw an advert for this hotel in the Malta Times. For 29 euros per person per night, bed breakfast and buffet evening meal, you couldnt fault it and we will definately be trying it again in low season, the weather was great, hotel staff friendly Yes it's shabby chic but u get what you pay for!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

We went with 2 young kids and loved every minute. Yes the bungalow was shabby but it had a superb view of the Med and you could literally throw a stone from the door into the sea. The fittings were a bit 70s but the staff were so helpful and it was nice to go somewhere not swamped with Brits. The pools were OK but filled with some pretty strong chemicals, so we spent most of the time in the sea. The private beaches were good and the short walk to the Blue lagoon was great for snorkelling. It was extremely child friendly, and we felt that despite the fact that 4 star is a bit generous, it was good value for money. We do agree though- with a bit of money and care, this place could be absolutely superb.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We went to the Comino Hotel for two nights. Last time we visited was ten years back. Not a penny appears to have been spent on refurbishment since then. It advertises two tennis courts by the bungalows. Approaching the courts gives you an idea of what to expect; overgrown trees with leaves accumulated over a number of years. The tennis courts are totally abandoned with no net. At Comino you thought you would be getting away from the dust caused by buildings in progress all over Malta. Not so. the path ways are made of dust and with the van passing, there are frequent clouds of dust. The water sports; possibly the sport that would attract most people to Comino; DISASTER. We asked to go water sking to be told that the speedboat is out of order. So we got onto a Hobie Cat. This gave us the best half hour of our stay only to be cut short as the Jib rope tore. Not surprising as these sails look like they are way past their best by date! We therefore settled for the windsurfer which felt much heavier at the end of our session. No wonder, the nose was broken. Nonetheless, the water sports attendent, just like all the other workers are great. Considering the state of this hotel they really do their best. They are the only part within the 4 Star rating of this hotel. In fact they are 8 Star! The rooms are clean and the food is relatively good. Fortunately, the owners/operators have not managed to put us off this uniquely located hotel and we shall be back. But we shall not be expecting much other than having a place to sleep and eat in fantstically unspoilt beautifull surroundings

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comino Hotel

Address: San Niklaw Bay, Comino SPB08, Malta
Location: Malta > Comino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Comino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.