We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Givskud Zoo

Givskud Zoo
Loveparkvej 3 | Give, Give, Hedensted 7323 , Denmark
7573 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Give
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a day in the animal kingdom – GIVSKUD ZOO is only a 25-minute drive from Billund. Take the family on safari in your own car or on the GIVSKUD ZOO Safari Bus. Get closer to the animals! You drive across the African savannah, where zebra and giraffes have right of way.Continue into the Lions' Den. This is dangerous territory! Feel the thrill as the big cats lumber past your car. Do you dare? The pride of lions in GIVSKUD ZOO is Denmark's biggest, so you are always sure to see lots of the big cats. Don't forget to visit our tropical house with our newest species of carnivores, the South American giant otters. See them swimming in their pool and watch them being fed. Throughout most of the season, the elephants, gorillas, lemurs and other species are fed daily. Children are welcome to help the zoo guide feed the camels! If you need to take a break from the animals, GIVSKUD ZOO has lots to offer the whole family – it's a great place to play, relax and have fun! Visit the teepee camp, where children can bake bonfire bread and pan for gold just like real gold diggers.Let the children run wild on our huge play area. There are areas specially reserved for toddlers – so Mums and Dads can relax while the children play. Take your children for a ride on the Safari Train. With the driver's help, children are even allowed to feed the animals. Small children love "Stroke a goat". In fact, it will probably become their favourite place in the zoo park.
1 review
“Amazing !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I love this place. The animals are amazing and the staff is so polite. We had the best time and we will without a doubt go there again. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    31
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic lion experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited this zoo in combination with a stay in Legoland. Conclusion first: this park is great! It is not too large and it does not contain all animals in the world, but it is a nice experience to drive your own car among wild animals like zebras, girafs and lions. It is very fascinating to experience real lions walking around your car or playing just outside your car window. The lions came so close it was almost scary. You don't have to stay here a full day, some hours will be enough.

We will come back next time we are in the area!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best expereince I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Yes, that was one of the best experience I have ever had so far. That is not a regular Zoo as you can have direct interaction with some animals (e.g. lemurs). We were with 4 children at age of 6 to 17. What differs Givskud Zoo from other ones is that you can use your own car and go among the wild animals, including tigers.
In tigers area that was really amazing when you go by your own car and you have a tiger in front of you, for some of children may be scary if the tiger (small one) is just next to your cars door. But all very safe as the staff is checking the security all the time.
Apart of that you can experience feeding of different animals with a story from the person who looks after them. Children can use very nice playing zone: playground, goat area where they can have a chance to play with goats. Very nice food offered there. The fee is charged by person, car is free of charge.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandweiler, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Day that could have ben better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Visited today Givskud løvepark, this was a visit that was both good an bad, lets take the bad experiences first . ZoOasen where we wanted to eat was bad, the tables were dirty
full of leftovers from people who had eaten before us. Of the five dishes we ordered, one was wrong. Second there are not many lions in the park and they are very difficult to spot due to the many cars in the park that block the wiew, some refuse to move and thereby create long waiting lines on a busy day like the day we visited. When we finally saw the lions we were waved on and hardly had time to watch the lions contrary to others who were allowed to stay longer.

On the positive side it was nice to see a zoo, where the animals have plenty of space.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hey gem off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This is not your traditional zoo. It reminded me of a cross between lion country Safari and the San Diego wild animal Park. You can drive your own car or ride the safari bus through the park. There are three major areas to stop and walk paths close to animals. They have an excellent collection of animals, and you can get much closer than some other places.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Givskud Zoo also viewed

Billund, Billund Municipality
Billund, Billund Municipality
 
Billund, Billund Municipality
Vejle, Vejle Municipality
 

Been to Givskud Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Givskud Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.