We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Comfortable & secure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Leadway

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Leadway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Protea Hotel Leadway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Mugambo Close, off Emmanuel Street | Maryland Estate, Ikeja, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Ikeja
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable & secure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Comfortable and secure hotel, located close to the airport. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, the outdoor pool area is small but comfortable and has tables for dining outdoors. Restaurant/bar serves good food, although it is a little expensive. Staff are knowledgeable and friendly, an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
On a jetplane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is another hotel from the Protea chain of hotels, located 15 mins from the airport. Comfortable large beds decent sized rooms. Bathrooms are reasonable with seperate shower and bath. Free intenet access but download speeds are slow due to ISP. A small pool with a sun deck. A small bar, dining room area and lounge area. Food menu is fixed but good quality, breakfast is plentyful, with a good choice. Security is provided and is apparent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I live in Abuja and travel via Lagos to SA and this hotel is the only place we stay at. The staff are friendly and competent, the service is good and the rooms are always perfect (their beds are awesome). The GM there is very friendly and she will assist wherever she can. If you need somewhere not too far from the airport this is it! Safe travels.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate Rsa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Expensive but what isn't when in Africa om buisness. Good rooms, great connectivity (free) and excellent food makes this a very good place to stay in Nigeria

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

It might be boring to read, but in the past, when one stayed in Lagos, there was one hotel on the mainland and one on the islands. That is, internationally acceptable, hotels. Well they were and are exhorbitant expenisive and though renovated etc. still quite hopeless, especially the Libanese/state run Eko. Now a few more hotels have come up, quite a few to say all.

Of the RSA Protea group, there is ( in Lagos) the Ikeya one, which is OK, the VI one ( Victoria island) , which is terrible, and badly run by a combination of Protea and owners management ( the worst), there is another one on VI ( Kuramo), well hidden but also always full, and the Westwood, but do not like the locatrion,as well as the one in Lekki, but that is any way to avoid because of teh Lekki Jam. And then there is the jewel in the crown, which is the Mary land Protea. Small.Cosy, reasonably priced, very good food, staff is above average for the Nigerian hospitality industry, that needs to take a tour in East AFrica and it is very well run, which might explain it is such a nice place to be. After having tried 12 hotels in Lagos, in 6 years, My conclusion remains, this is the only real good place, in all aspects, to stay, when visiting Lagos, even with business on the mainland, it is worth the traffic Jam !

Room Tip: Downstairs, poolside, Wifi also works better there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I recently had to travel to Lagos, Nigeria on business and was shocked at the prices of hotels in this city. I found the Protea Hotel Leadway online and the Tripadvisor reviews seemed good so I booked it.

I was very impressed - the security, the room, the bathroom, the free high speed wifi and the quality of restaurant food were all excellent. The staff were very friendly and accommodating - from the breakfast chef who asked me every morning if I had a good sleep to the duty manager that went out of his way to accommodate me when I needed some help. Lagos has huge electricity shortages so life runs on generators - fortunately they are very good at the hotel and despite a few seconds of blackout now and then you wouldn't even notice.

Ikeja is out of the "downtown" city which I understand is a plus, but the traffic is still a nightmare during peak hours - be warned! The Sheraton and Protea Hotel Ikeja are both down the road (10 mins) and the Leadway is a much smaller hotel. I had lunch at the Sheraton and my initial impression was that the Leadway seemed much more modern (and was more reasonably priced).

I didn't leave the hotel in the evenings (not the greatest area) and ate at the hotel restaurant, but their was a good selection and the food was really good quality.

On the down side the airconditioning in the room struggled to keep it anything more than "moderately cool" and the price is extremely expensive - 5 star resort expensive! Unfortunately this is a standard in Nigeria so you probably won't find anything better at a lower price.

Room Tip: If travelling into Africa a lot I suggest buying into the Protea Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Hotel was Nice, staff was friendly. Brakefast everage, orange juice was nothing natural.
You feel safe in there, it's clean and the staff is friendly. Espensiv place to stay. The hotel is very quiete, don't expect to meet anybody at night at the bar... food was good!
free internet and newspaper in the room!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ikeja
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Ikeja
Protea Hotel Ikeja
#2 of 11 in Ikeja
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lagos Ikeja
Restaurant, Spa...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
African Sun Amber Residence
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.0 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 71 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Ibis Lagos Airport
Ibis Lagos Airport
#21 of 71 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Leadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Leadway

Address: 1 Mugambo Close, off Emmanuel Street | Maryland Estate, Ikeja, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Ikeja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Ikeja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel Leadway 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Leadway – Where Elegance and Service is a Priority in Ikeja. Protea Hotel Leadway Ikeja, in Maryland Estate and only 15 minutes from the airport, offers elegant and spacious classic rooms as well as suites. Our elegant 30-seater restaurant is open daily, serving delicious food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The bar is open till late, serving cocktails and drinks, as well as light snacks. If you want to eat in the comfort of your room, our 24-hour room service will gladly assist. For rest and relaxation, the hotel has a swimming pool and fully fitted fitness centre available for GUESTS, all year round. A private sound room is available for hire to GUESTS wishing to listen to surround-sound music or watching movies on an LCD screen. There is a Business Centre that includes a printer, fax, internet and scanner for GUESTS who need to stay in touch with the office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Leadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Lagos
Protea Hotel Leadway Ikeja, Lagos State, Nigeria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Leadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.