We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Clean and friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De Renaissance Hotel

Save Saved
You added De Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
De Renaissance Hotel
172 Obafemi Awolowo Way | Ikeja Lagos, Ikeja, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Ikeja
Beveren, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights between June 12 and June 14 2013.
The hotel is a clean and well managed. The waiters at the bar and in the restaurant are very friendly and try to make you happy. The room was clean but the airco was very noisy. I had to cut the power during night.
The restaurant serves international and Nigerian cuisine. Food was ok, altough not great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber J, Front Office Manager at De Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We are really thankful to you for this review and there is always a room for improvement. We are really sorry for that noisy air conditioner, few days back we did replace all the old AC's with the new one to give our guest more comfort and sound less sleep.
Once again we would like to say thank you to give opportunity and stayed in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lagos
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

This relatively new hotel is good for the business traveller being located in the business district and quite close to all the state government offices. Its attractions are the proximity to the new Ikeja shopping mall, the local and international airports and the Lagos Ibadan Expressway. Unfortunately this makes it a noisy location for a person traveling for leisure or holiday.Parking space is limited and there is practically no good view from the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber J, Manager at De Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for this lovely comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It's a nice hotel and well decorated. I love the city view from the room, which is always a nice alternative to the always problematic TV channels (I've been to this property at least three times). Hotel is clean and there's very easy access to transportation- if you don't want to use the costly ones provided by the hotel. Food is unnecessarily expensive and doesn't taste good. It's better to go to Shoprite- a nearby mall which is about 5 minutes on foot. Hotel staff are ok, not great. Overall, a nice experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber J, Manager at De Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your such a lovely comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Tough place to stay and do business as internet is spotty. The shower pressure is terrible and literally had to take military showers every day.

The food is below average but there is a saving grace to this property.

It is located right next to the Ikeja mall. The mall has a great restaurant called Rhapsody, South African owned. Great seafood, meats, vegetables and desserts. The mall also has a Mugg n Beans, a nice coffee shop.

So while the hotel is trying, the good side is you can walk around and get to the mall by foot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber J, Front Office Manager at De Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
This review is not applicable for now, the new management is on ground. We have finished the refurbishment exercise in our hotel to upgrade the services. Shortly we are going to update our hotel website with all the new changes what we have done in the hotel to make the guest stay full of comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Ever since this hotel opened for business, I am still in awe of the great decor, it's overwhelmingly good. There is this particular room/ suite that is like an island the room is at the center of the living room it circles round back. Check it out. Am always lost in my thoughts each time I visit. It always feel like am somewhere far far away

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber J, Manager at De Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Anyone expecting Western standards in West African hotels is likely to be disappointed
(unless you've very deep pockets). I recently spent 9 weeks in the de Renaissance, so good and bad points. Don't stay above the 3rd floor - the water pressure doesn't make it. My room was large and well cleaned every day ( except for the window sills). The grouting in the bathroom did leak but I was pleased to be getting the hot water! The pool worked but the gym equipment didn't. They were ripping it out as I left so maybe it does now. I found the staff helpful and friendly( where they didn't have to keep quiet about the water pressure) and the food fine ( depends on your expectations). The manager, Neil, worked exceptionally hard. The location is great with the Shoprite mall next door. I was pleased to be going back there every day, particularly when I heard about others' experiences in different hotels. The internet wifi access was sometimes dodgy. I'm not sure whether they could do much about it.

Room Tip: Stay below the 4th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber J, Manager at De Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for this lovely review, our internet service is now miles better. Please whenever you come to Lagos, must visit in our hotel to see the changes what new management has made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The manager and his wife creepily sit in the lobby as one of the reviewers mentioned and watch as the front desk staff flat out refuse to address any problems/ issues of concerns to their guests/clients. Horrible service, dirty and unkept rooms esp. the bathroom, did,i mention bad service. All in all, would not recommend or even put my dog in here even if offered for free.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber J, Manager at De Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry for all the inconvenience which occurred during your stay.

This review is not applicable for now, the new management is on ground. We have finished the refurbishment exercise in our hotel to upgrade the services. Shortly we are going to update our hotel website with all the new changes what we have done in the hotel to make the guest stay full of comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Renaissance Hotel

Address: 172 Obafemi Awolowo Way | Ikeja Lagos, Ikeja, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Ikeja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Ikeja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are welcome to the home page of De renaissance luxury hotel, strategically located in Lagos- a lively cosmopolitan city that offers business and leisure travelers a stimulating and enriching experience. The Hotel is stylishly tucked within the serene environment of Alausa district, close to the Lagos state secretariat, Governor’s office Ikeja, the golf course is a 10mins drive from the hotel and therefore guarantees easy access to major parts of Lagos. The hotel is a 15 minutes’ drive from the Muritala Mohammed international airport and 10minutes from MMA2. Also, next to the hotel is the new Ultra-Modern Shopping mall with shops like Shopprite,KFC(Kentucky Fried Chicken), Woolworth, Mr. Price, TruWorths, Genibendi, Ruff- tumble for children naming just a few.Elegance, glamour, sheer sophistication and exquisite service, are flawlessly combined to embody a truly unique experience at De renaissance Hotel.De- Renaissance Hospitality Group MD/CEO Mr. Omoruyi said the STAFF service culture also had much to do with the brand’s success. “We have an exceptional service culture that treats every person who walks through our doors as an individual with a unique set of wants and needs. We strive to always exceed GUEST expectations; nothing less will do.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your De Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Renaissance Hotel Ikeja, Lagos State, Nigeria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.