We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Great place to stay and visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Ikeja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Ikeja to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Ikeja
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42/44 Isaac John Street | Gra, Ikeja, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ikeja
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

When am down and feeling very blue, I visit protea by the pool side, take Cosmo and their mixture of peanut and coconut in a jar. They play great music and the waterfall from the blue pool is super dreamy. I live in lags I really don't need to stay in the hotel, but I pop in from time to time. Oh buffet is #5000

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
2
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in October. Arrived very late at night and front desk staff were less than welcoming. I thought it was just a late night thing but discovered that this was the way of things for my stay. That said, it was still a welcome retreat from the environment that surrounds it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

During my last trip to Lagos we celebrated my niece's birthday @ the hotel on 9/17/12 for a dinner buffet .The food was pretty good,I actually did a walk through with the chef and I was impressed with how professional he was and knowledgeable with both local and western cuisine.The mashed potatoes and gravy stood out.Just was as fluffy as clouds,gravy was flavorful just like most of the buffet.The maitre'd,Mr. Kabir was also very professional.He made sure the wait staff attended to us as well as other patrons promptly.The only draw back is the hotel does not accept Amex as a method of payment,only visa or mc.When I travel abroad Amex is my preferred card 'cos I get the best exchange rate.Overall very good experience.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Spent a week here and I think they deal with many of the local challenges very well.
The menu is limited, but there is a good bar, good gym, rooms are worthy of most cities
There are regular power cuts which makes internet coverage hard and patchy, but they are all very helpful, with one glaring exception on the front desk, who had amazing attitude!
Best choice in Lagos without poaying the earth

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Its a good hotel..but dont expect a lot of things..Its decent..the staff is good, food is good. The pool is good.. but located close to conference rooms..hence privacy is an issue. Rooms are decent and clean..But the service is not upto the mark. Its safe..with good level of security checks ..and a good place to stay if you are Lagos

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Too bad for the Sheraton that it sits Cross the greet from the Protea, which is a highly superior hotel in all ways.
The Protea, like the Sheraton, is pricey. Unlike the Sheraton, it is modern, clean, bright, and worth the price.
Food is good, the lobby is fun and comfortable to hang out in, and the location is convenient to the airport. Security is good, and the rooms are nice.
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Ikeja, General Manager at Protea Hotel Ikeja, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear "Lauren A",

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.
Your input is of great value to us.

If you have any additional comments for us on how we could make your next stay and that of other GUESTS more comfortable, please feel free to let us know at any time.

Kind regards

Derik Jacobsz
gm@phikeja.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

After staying at its sister hotel in Abuja the one was a big let down. The hotel itself was very nice and had nice decor and nice rooms so on the face of it i thought i was in for another nice stay. The staff at the main desk didn't seem to have much of a clue what was going on or seem interested in finding out. The room was nice and comfy but i was disturbed every night and morning by the staff slamming doors and meeting and chatting in the corridors, I had to come out of my room and tell them to clear off twice! i got no apology either time! i also complained about the slamming doors and even showed one of the staff how to close the door and lock it without slamming it, unfortunately this didn't help. We spent a fair bit of out time in the restaurant because of the weather and the service here was just as bad. We had to call the waiters over every time we sat down as they were just stood around chatting, we ordered food and drink and were never asked how our food was or if we wanted anything else after that. We would sit for a few hours at a time and were never asked what we would like and were ignored the whole time we sat there which considering there was to many waiters if anything is unacceptable. The only time we got any attention was EVERY time we went outside for a cigarette one of the waiters would jump up and shout across about the bill! not one word about what we like for two hours but if you try to leave they suddenly wake up! the food was pretty good and dry cleaning service was pretty good for Nigeria but for the price the hotel was nowhere near the standard it should be, there was some management walking around but they couldn't be doing much as this place is in serious need of a lesson in service and customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Ikeja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Ikeja

Address: 42/44 Isaac John Street | Gra, Ikeja, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Ikeja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ikeja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Ikeja 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Protea Hotel Ikeja, situated in the government residential area of Ikeja in Lagos, offers GUESTs superb accommodation in a tranquil and safe environment. Get a taste of Nigerian cuisine, and continental dishes, at our restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Feel free to relax next to the pool with one of our idyllic cocktails listening to soft sounds of our three story water feature and, with a 24 hour bar, relaxation has no time limit. Your room will be waiting for you along with the air-conditioning, en suite bathroom, flat screen TV, mini bar and lots more. For the young at heart we offer a fully equipped gymnasium as well as two treatment rooms for those who want to loosen the muscles after a long flight in a more relaxed environment. If shopping is on the cards, visit the Ikeja Shopping Mall, which is a mere 15 minutes from the hotel and will satisfy all of your shopping needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Protea Hotel Ikeja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Ikeja Lagos State, Nigeria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Ikeja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.