We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tudor Arms Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slimbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tudor Arms Lodge
Save
You added The Tudor Arms Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Shepherds Patch, Slimbridge GL2 7BP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Slimbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Enjoyed a relaxing few days in the beautiful British countryside. The weather could have benn better but we can't control that can we? Enjoyed a visit to the wildfowl centre nearby. The room was lovely, the breakfast was huge and there was plenty of choice. Highly recommend if you're visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    25
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
76
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castle Hedingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The Tudor Arms was a great location for a trip to Slimbridge. We were looking at Travelodges etc, but stumbled across this and I'm so pleased we did. It is a great place. The rooms are spacious, and as someone who is fastidious with cleanliness, this was the cleanest place I have stayed in. The decor was excellent too. The ales on offer were very good. My only criticisim of the meal (which was also very good along with the substantial breakfast) was that the topping of my vegetable lasagne perhaps wasn't gratinated enough for my liking, but I'm just being picky!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed here to visit Slimbridge. Like a five star hotel. Well worth staying here if you are visiting anywhere within travelling distance of this well run and beautifully located B&B and pub.
The room we had was extremely spacious and the bed was a fabulous- a gigantic ashwood sleigh bed! The bed was a little high for me {I'm only 5 foot!}, but it was sooo comfy! (particularly after a long walk). Good size freeview TV , hairdryer, tea and coffee tray with a good selection of tea and lovely biscuits! (a real treat!). Excellent bathroom. Tubes of shower gel/shampoo/soap and shower cap provided. Mirror light goes on automatically you walk in. Bath/shower has one tap to adjust temperature, and you then run the bath/shower at the right temparature for you! Brilliant!
Lovely breakfast. Soft fresh fruit (we had raspberries ,strawberries, blueberries, pear, pineapple,grapes ) thick Greek yoghurt, to go with it if you want. Cereal, Toast with a selection of jams, honey, marmalade in those lovely dinky pots! A full cooked breakfast or whatever variation you wanted and as much tea and freshly brewed coffee as you wanted.
The staff said if you need anything, just ask, but everything we needed was already provided. Also a really good pub. Good variety of excellent ales and ciders, several of which we tried! Also TV in lounge bar, two pool tables/darts tables and even a skittle alley! Food was good pub fayre and basic meals are available all day.
From here it is just over a 5 minute walk to Slimbridge. We also had a lovely evening walk along the canal to Frampton-on Severn. Local canal man told us of short cut in front of the church and through the woodland at Frampton. It is a walk of about 1hr 20 if you stroll, but there is a good pub called the Bell at the end of the long village green in Frampton, so you can have a well earned rest/meal/drink before the stroll back! If you are cycling, it's probably no time at all, and the canal path going north is good and flat for bikes. You are also only about 15 -20 minutes by car to Gloucester from here. Plenty of walks from here we would like to do next time and maybe even bring some friends and hire a canal boat, which is easy to do at the canal. There is also a nice cafe at the canal side serving breakfast, snacks, meals and home made cakes and tea/coffee.Certainly glad we stayed here and I'm sure we will be back some time!

Room Tip: The rooms are on two floors, so if you have trouble with stairs, ask for a ground floor room when bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiRock, Manager at The Tudor Arms Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Visited the Tudor a few times while staying at the Tudor Arms caravan park which is adjacent. Very good food, especially the sunday roast, which was excellent. Staff and service was very good and pub was clean and tidy. The Tudor offered a fine selection of real ales and some very fine ciders. Great location next to the Sharpness and Gloucester canal with it's swing bridge which leads to the Slimbridge wildfoul center. A great location for a beer and/or meal with two outside areas to sit out in on a fine day.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and registration was a little slow as the bar staff were so busy. However the staff were polite and friendly and room was more than adequate, good size, well furnished and very clean. Our room faced the car park only a couple of metres from the window and I was woken by someone arriving late and slamming car doors, with all the accompanying lights flashing as they locked it (twice!). So maybe worth checking rooms on the other side of the corridor. Breakfast is difficult for me, but the staff were again very helpful and came up with novel alternatives - thank you. Easy walk to Slimbridge Wildfowl and Wetlands along a road lined with daffodils.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We always stop here for lunch when visting Slimbridge and have never been disappointed. I normally don't order roasts at pubs as they usually never live up to a home roast but on this occasion the Saltmarsh Lamb caught my eye so I thought I'd give it a go. It was superb, best roast I've had in any pub. the lamb was full of flavour and the veg was cooked to perfection, no over-cooked mush here! Also top marks for offering a children's roast (not all under 12s want to eat chicken nuggets or fishfingers), and it wasn't much smaller than the adults. Add in a good selection of well-kept real ale and friendly service and you can see why we will definitely keep coming back.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

I have stayed at the Tudor Arms a number of times over the past few years and find the rooms very comfortable and quiet. The location is great right next to the canal for evening walks. the food is good pub grub, good portions, good service etc. Be aware though that they do take bookings for people with dogs and I stayed recently when one room had 2 terriers barking until all hours at night plus early in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tudor Arms Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tudor Arms Lodge

Address: Shepherds Patch, Slimbridge GL2 7BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Slimbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Slimbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tudor Arms Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run 4 star inn near with good food, beers and ciders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tudor Arms Hotel Slimbridge
The Tudor Arms Lodge Slimbridge, Gloucestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tudor Arms Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.