We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food outstanding hope you get your 2nd AA Rosette soon! although would not be necessary!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oakhill Inn

Save Saved
You added The Oakhill Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oakhill Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Fosse Road, Oakhill, Shepton Mallet BA3 5HU, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Oakhill B&B and Inns
Kent
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“food outstanding hope you get your 2nd AA Rosette soon! although would not be necessary!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The owners and staff very very friendly and the produce was amazing real food!! real taste, cooked well and just try the walnut bread!! room we had was very small but no problem our son was on campbed in there so it did the job!!! very very good.. recommend to anyone we loved it so much went back the next night for a meal with friends... only staying in area for a week.... very helpful.
many thanks and keep it up!! we will be back next year when New Wine is on again at Bath and west showground Christian camp..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    30
    3
    6
    0
See reviews for
20
44
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Spent 1 night with my 2 young kids whilst at a local wedding. Very friendly staff & great breakfast
100% recommend :-)

Room Tip: We were at a room in the front so heard people in and out of the pub, but to be honest unless you we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I didn't stay here but we stopped in for Saturday lunch on our way back from Shepton Mallet. It's a great looking pub with a nice warm shabby-chic atmosphere. The staff were friendly and helpful although the food was quiet a wait saying that the pub was not even very busy.
There was a good choice too with a bar menu and the restaurant menu both offering a selection of meat, fish and vegetarian options. We opted for char-grilled Mackerel & warm Samphire salad (£14), fish & chips and a burger (both £11). All were very nice and fairly priced.
The opnly thing I would say that apart from the slow service, the atmosphere was a little bit flat. As the pub was not that busy it seemed a little bit too quiet - a bit of light background music would have helped - instead all we could here was the music coming from the kitchen. Overall it was good - but could easily be so much better with a little bit more thought.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I booked here because everywhere else was full due to some agricultural show put on near Shepton Mallet.

What can I say that hasn't already been said by others? Welcomig staff, fantastic food, decent beer and a great room.

My only one (very small) "complaint" was that I do like to have day light coming in through my windows in the morning - esp when it's sunny, as it was then - and both the bathroom and the bedroom were on the front with a very deep window, meaning that - ahem - in the "clothes" one might be expected to wear in the shower didn't really make this possible and I'm not known for my acts of exhibitionism.

As a business traveller, the price might put me off staying on a regular basis, but I feel that even so, this represented good value for money, especially compared to some places that charge similar.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Arrived at lunchtime after having been disappointed that our normal haunt The Old Spot, Wells, was fully booked.

We have lived locally for 15 years and have never thought to give it a try. What a mistake that has been.

A great shabby, chic venue, with a roaring fire, which on a cold and miserable day was wonderfully welcoming, as was the barman. We ordered our drinks and food and seated ourselves. So far so good.

The menu was limited, which I prefer, better to excel with a few dishes. We opted for a ribeye and a rump steak and some bread, oil and balsamic to nibble whilst waiting. The bread arrived promptly. It was okay, three thin half slices of sour dough but was edible. Chunks would have been better and perhaps a couple of different types (we did however overhear that it was the Chef`s day off),

The food arrived, what a pleasant surprise after the bread course. My husband`s rump, triple cooked chips and mushrooms were perfect. The accompanying salad was also really good. A very light dressing and fresh, which makes a pleasant change from some places who just plonk a couple of whole lettuce leaves and unripe tomato in a bowl.

My ribeye was okay, perfectly cooked, a little tough but then that happens occasionally without it being down to the cooking method. The highlight however was the mushrooms, sublime. A mixture of varieties, perfectly seasoned and cooked with shallots and butter, I would have been very happy with a plate of mushrooms !!

The Landlady at one point came over to check that we were okay, She was really pleasant without being intrusive.

Without doubt, we will go back. Think we might give Sunday lunch a try.

Overall, a great Inn with good food, the service and pleasant manner of the staff is just a breath of fresh air !!! Will be recommending to friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Have just spent a night at the Oakhill Inn, great ambience, food, staff, interesting snug/dining areas, we had a family reunion here yesterday and shall return! Room great! Thank you.

Room Tip: We viewed all the rooms before leaving, although we were in Rm 1(great bath!) the other rooms were k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

If you like Quality Inns, then this is it! Having just returned i have to post a review on this fantastic Inn. We had a standard room with shower (room 3 ) and it was very nice . I originally wanted the deluxe room , but i have to say the standard room was more than adequate . Fantastic 2 nights sleep in a very comfortable bed . Restaurant or bar food is superb .The Chef , Neils food both breakfast and evening meals were fantastic.The bar is extremely well managed by Mike and with a good selection of ales and lagers . What we really liked as well were the soft comfortable sofas in the "snug" part of the bar. Just be carefull you dont get too comfy , or you might not want to go to your room !
Position of this Inn is ideal . We visited Cheddar Gorge and Wells (very nice) , on one day . On the second day we spent the day at Longleat (another great day out, just watch out for the monkeys on your car!) Also close to Bath , so very centrally situated.
In summary , great position , fantastic atmosphere with very friendly staff , excellent food and superb rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oakhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakhill Inn

Address: Fosse Road, Oakhill, Shepton Mallet BA3 5HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Oakhill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakhill Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional country pub with high class bed and breakfast. Our menu is full of excellent seasonal food served in an informal atmosphere and the breakfast reflects this quality. The rooms are furnished to a very high standard with the finest cotton percale bed linen. This is a family run B and B and the welcome guest receive is genuine and warm. An excellent base to explore Somerset from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your The Oakhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oakhill Hotel Oakhill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oakhill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.