We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bugle Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bugle Hotel to your Saves list
The Bugle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bugle Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   The Square | Titchfield, Titchfield, Fareham PO14 4AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Titchfield B&B and Inns
1 review
“Weekend away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for his birthday, we stayed in the double room with a en suite and a bath in the corner of the room.
Absolutely beautiful to stay in and was really nice to be able to relax in the tub whilst watching television and chatting.

The bed itself was ok to sit on and watch teley on but when we went to go to sleep it wasn't comfortable and I woke up the next day with a stiff neck but perhaps just a extra pillow may have helped.

The particular night we stayed there was a function downstairs which when guests went to toilet across the way from the room, the door kept banging which in the end drove us insane but turns out it had finished by the time we got quite annoyed.

The food is absolutely wonderful, we had lunch, dinner and breakfast the following day and it was all very tasty and I couldn't fault any part of it. The restaurant had a lovely relaxed vibe, we quickly felt very settled.

Overall I would defintely stay here again, whenever we plan to go away for a relaxing break we always think of going here as we really loved the location and hotel itself as a whole. The staff were very helpful, polite and always done their best to ensure we were happy.

I think the management should be very proud of their staff and the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    4
    8
    1
See reviews for
5
9
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nottinghamshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

we booked the bugle for a Friday and Saturday night for a double en suite room.
there is a last check in time so we booked the latest one which was 10.30 pm (we had to travel quite a way after work) .
check in was simple and friendly we had time for a drink before closing so found it ok. looking round the bar area it did seem a little shabby in places with the bar stools having ripped coverings. the open fire looked good but it was not lit when we arrived understandably
the hotel does not have a residents bar or any facility for drinks after last orders. we were informed we could take one up with us if necessary.There was a separate unsecured entrance to the rooms for access during the times when the bar was closed.
the hotel has character which we like and yes the floors were sloping which can be expected from a hotel this age. There were lots of interesting nooks and cranny's.
we were however very disappointed with the room as we had paid the top price for it and the hotel was not full. it was very small with a rather small ugly shower room . the shower cubical itself was dirty and needed a new door.there was someone else,s soap drips on the wall of the cubical and remnants of soap in the soap dish attachment. the toilet had brown stains in the bottom.
there was a problem with the water being lukewarm but after running it for what seemed forever it came through a bit warmer.
the bed was small and very uncomfortable and i could not get to sleep on it.
the room furniture was ok but cheap looking. there was an issue with cleanliness and we felt the room had not been cleaned properly for a while. there were a lot of cob webs around the window.The window frame was dirty and all the paintwork could have done with a wipe.
All in all the people running it were very nice but we wouldnt stay there again.

Room Tip: the rooms at the front are noisy in the early morning with 2 shops next door and the rooms have sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Titchfield hotels

Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We live locally and enjoy going to this pub. They provide special deals most evenings which are very good value for money. The food takes a little while to arrive which does seem to indicate that it is all cooked freshly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just returned after a 4 night stay and couldn't fault it. The staff were very friendly, the food was 5/5 and very reasonably priced, the bed was comfy, the shower was very good and if I'm ever working in the area again I shall definately stay here again. Highly recommended. Mr Lond

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay in The Bugle. The owners are incredibly friendly and obliging, happily giving any information and help needed. My room was clean, spacious and nicely furnished, with a four poster bed and a bath in the corner (room 6)! I didn't eat dinner in the hotel at all, but breakfasts were high quality and home-cooked. Overall, the atmosphere of the hotel is of a cosy, old fashioned country pub - would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great welcome, all staff gave us lots of helpful advice of what to do and where to go. The room and hotel was clean, the breakfast and dinner were fantastically home cooked meals to a high standard. The hotel and bar had a very cosy and friendly feel and it's a great location to visit Southampton, Portsmouth and the Isle of White to name but a few places on the door step. The coast and costal/riverside resorts are also close. Very good value for money and would definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Currently staying in the Bugle , Have heard multiple bad reports but all i have to say is positive. The management team Mark and Natalia are brilliant! They go out their way to help all residents of the hotel! The staff behind the bar (Nadine , as well as the chef Seb) are all fantastic ! really plesent and made me feel very welcome during my stay. The food is also brilliant had food every night more or less with great deals on monday-thursday! Rooms are typicaly homely and great for a few nights stay! Thanks to all at hotel well deffinately come back and recommend to everyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bugle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bugle Hotel

Address: The Square | Titchfield, Titchfield, Fareham PO14 4AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham > Titchfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Titchfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bugle Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Bugle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bugle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.