We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lewtrenchard Manor

Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewdown | Near Okehampton, Lewdown, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4PN, England
01566783222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Lewdown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $127
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A beautiful Jacobean manor house deep in the Devon countryside, Lewtrenchard Manor offers luxury dining in a sublime setting. Dating back to the 1600s, the Manor has an interesting and varied history, a fact that can be seen in every nook and cranny throughout the hotel and dining rooms. One of the finest restaurants in the county, the Lewtrenchard Manor restaurant is overseen by Chef Patron Jason Hornbuckle who learned his trade under the watchful eyes of some of London���s most respected chefs in high quality city establishments. Here, Hornbuckle has enthusiastically created a menu that makes the most of the best Devonshire produce available while employing the methods and flavour combinations of chic modern European cuisine, earning the restaurant three AA Rosettes. Lively and relaxed, Lewtrenchard Manor is a superb place in which to indulge in the very best food and, indeed, delightful wines from the extensive cellar of old and new world labels.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A lovely house that makes you forget all your woes as soon as you arrive. Spring, summer or winter, this place is just lovely. The food is always superb, the atmosphere and location are wonderful and the staff are really professional and make you feel very special. Well worth many a visit!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    12
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A truly delightful meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Right from the starting canapes, through to the petit fours, every dish was superb - not too much or too little, not too rich, all extremely well balanced. The set menu had four choices for each of the main three courses, which some people may gripe at but trust me there is a wide enough range of flavours on offer...and very flavoursome they are indeed. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good meal, fantastic value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had the pleasure of being treated to a Father's Day lunch at this restaurant. The setting is lovely; a smaller version of Gidleigh on the other side of Dartmoor. The manor is authentic with a castle feeling about it. This would be a fantastic setting for a wedding.
We enjoyed drinks in a large room whilst making our lunch selections. The owners tended to this and were friendly but not over-intrusive. A short while after making our respective choices we were escorted to a smallish dining room which had around 5 circular tables in it if memory serves. I suspect they have a number of dining rooms like this. It certainly felt intimate. Warm home-made breads were served with both saltd and unsalted butter. Delicious, and one of the trademarks, I think, of higher-end restaurants.
A veloute was served which was creamy and tasty (and another welcome justification to have some more bread!). The starters were soon with us and everyone enjoyed them, although I think I had the pick with the poached egg on asparagus with a Hollandaise sauce. The mains were similarly sucessful. I and one other had the Poussin which was very nice indeed. A pre-dessert was delicious and afterwards I opted for the cheese course. This came at a small supplement (around £5) and was the only negative thing I have to report. Not because of the quality of the cheeses or biscuits, but simply because the selection was limited to three and wasn't from a cheese board. I was, to be honest, expecting a little more given they came at a supplement.
Regardless, the overall experience was excellent. The whole meal (excluding supplement) was around £35 which, for this quality, is truly excellent value. I suspect the owners are pitching the menu to build a reputation and I have no doubt they will do so rather quickly at these prices!

Just to mention that the toilets were contemporary, high quality and spotless. I always think the attention to detail on the non-food aspects of restaurants speaks volumes about what you would expect goes on out of sight in the kitchen.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An English delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The perfect, unhurried, Sunday lunch. A beautiful day, drinks in the garden, a small choice from an the set menu. Fresh, beautifully presented food served in historic surroundings. A few friendly dogs wandering around, smart service and good drinks choices. Not a single sign for the loo though! Coffees brought to us in the garden - and all the time in the world to enjoy them. Relaxing and pleasant all round.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Onward Chomping Soldiers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It seems strange to be eating in the country seat of the Reverend Sabine Baring-Gould, remembered for writing Onward Christian Soldiers and as an eminent and quintessential “high Victorian”. It certainly gives the meal added distinction and the decor is very much country house of the period.

The hotel is back in private hands after a period with the troubled Von Essen group - small hotels like this (14 rooms) are much better served by owner-managers than corporates.

But is the food any good? Well they certainly try, and it is executed with attention to detail. we found that flavours a little bland and lacking imagination, but maybe that is just us. £50 a head (without wine) may look toppy but for that you do get an amuse-bouche, a “pre-starter”, an entremet and coffee with petits fours, which in my book makes it all decent value. And they were very good too, while the wines are fairly priced.

Service is friendly and attentive if forgivably a little green at times, for this is greenest Devon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewtrenchard Manor also viewed

Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Lewtrenchard Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewtrenchard Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.